multiple materials, multiple textures in one model.....

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
Matthew

multiple materials, multiple textures in one model.....

Post by Matthew »

OK, I'm a newbie, and I've been searching for the answer, but just can't find it, how do I do this........

I have already created a MD3 model of a woman (thanks to Blender)

I want to have one jpg image rapped around her face with loads of detail

Also I want a second jpg image with very little detail of skin texture tiled around the rest of her skin.

A third image with the texture of cloth tiled around her clothing.

Etc....

I do NOT want to just have one image rapped around her, (eg Sydney in those tutorials), because I know the detail should be in her face.

What do I do???????

I can see maps use multiple images on one model and I can't see how that is done either. I'm just a confused newbie.....

I hope someone can help me see the light, cheers.....
Adler1337

Post by Adler1337 »

I've only done this with .3ds files. But .3ds isn't animated :( . I would like to know this as well. I use .ms3d for my animated files, but i find one unwarp to lack detail. It can be very confusing too, since my models can be very complex. Any suggestions?
multum in parvo
jotatsu

Post by jotatsu »

Well i have kinda the same question. For Static objects there are no problems, since for example in irrb they can be exported as independant objects (with 1 material per node).

But with animated ones doenst seem to work so well, i tried the b3d script of gandalf, it works well with 1 material-1UV-1texture, but with more than 1 material per object the textures wont load. I know that at least 2 materials (each one with different UVs) can exported ( i did that with the fairy before) , because you can fix the textures in irredit. Maybe that part of the b3d loader is broken.
bitplane
Admin

Post by bitplane »