New to Game Programming, Couple Questions

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
karljs

New to Game Programming, Couple Questions

Post by karljs »

Hi,
I'm a reasonably experienced programmer and am familiar with c++ and graphics programming in general. I've been experimenting with Irrlich and Blender during my free time but have some nagging questions:

- I am interested in creating a small world which contains an outdoor area as well as a few very simple buildings. What type of file will I want to generate and is Blender an appropriate tool for this? My only experience is with heightmaps which don't apply to buildings, obviously.

- Can anybody point me to resources about creating skeletal animations? All the Irrlicht tutorials (rightfully) ignore the generation of artwork and all the Blender tutorials on animation seem focused on creating films, not game content.

Thanks in advance
pippy3

Post by pippy3 »

irrb plugin is a fantastic tool that exports directly to irrlichts own file format. There's some great tuts on how to use light maps etc there too.

I'd recommend googling to find the best blender tuts on skeletal animation. These tuts I found where good:

http://3dtinkerer.blogspot.com/2008/11/ ... orial.html

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:M ... /Map_Input

http://theprocessdiary.blogspot.com/200 ... -2009.html

Also someone who also went from c++ to game programming: don't follow the waterfall process as closely as you normally do. Play your game constantly and iteratively add features that make the game fun
karljs

Post by karljs »

Thank you.

I think my problem with the skeletal animation tutorials in general is that Blender seems to have several mutually exclusive ways of handling it and I was getting techniques confused.
FuzzYspo0N

Post by FuzzYspo0N »