Adding a feature to Irrlicht as bachelor project

Discuss about anything related to the Irrlicht Engine, or read announcements about any significant features or usage changes.
gigilibala

Adding a feature to Irrlicht as bachelor project

Post by gigilibala »

Hi everyone

I am a bachelor Software Engineering student and I am in the last semester of uni.
I want to develop some features for an opensource game engine for my bachelor thesis and I found Irrlicht the best for my work.

I want you to tell me any needs you think is important of Irrlicht and then I will do some research on them. I will develop one or some of them as my project and new feature for Irrlicht.

I have 4 or 5 month halftime for doing this project and I really need you suggest me some features needed.

I have already thought of cloth modeling for Irrlicht but I think it is a little hard to develop and I want your opinion on it.

I am a semi professional C++ programmer and I already worked Java and C# too. So my ability in in programming is quite well.

Thanks if you can help me choose the features Irrlicht needs. I intended to include my implementation into future Irrlicht releases.
loki1985

Post by loki1985 »

personally i think the missing feature which is of highest strategic importance would be multithreading, but that is kind of a big task.

other than that, a revamp of the Image/Texture system would be good.

but if you are looking for smaller things, i am sure you will find some nice task
Nox

Post by Nox »

You mean something like this: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.ph ... tid=540678 ?

Well the question is if multithreading would help that much. But a flexible vertexformat would be nice. Something like this: http://7bitfaster.de/downloads/irrlicht_initiative.pdf point 2.2.2
gigilibala

Post by gigilibala »

loki1985 wrote:personally i think the missing feature which is of highest strategic importance would be multithreading, but that is kind of a big task.