[fixed]Unsupported Texture Format

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
Bate
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:39 pm
Location: Germany

[fixed]Unsupported Texture Format

Post by Bate »

The console window logs a lot of "unsupported texture format" messages, even though everything's in place on the screen. So what is that about?
Never take advice from someone who likes to give advice, so take my advice and don't take it.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yeah, I also saw them from time to time. But didn't find a place where I could apply some debugging. Can you post an example where I can reproduce this warning?
Bate
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:39 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Bate »

Yes, I found it.

The warning is displayed twice for that line in OpenGL (not in D3D).

Code: Select all

ITexture* test = driver->addRenderTargetTexture(dimension2du(512, 512));
If you specify the ECOLOR_FORMAT the warnings are gone.

Code: Select all

ITexture* test = driver->addRenderTargetTexture(dimension2du(512, 512), "test", ECF_A8R8G8B8);
Never take advice from someone who likes to give advice, so take my advice and don't take it.
Timo
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:37 am

Post by Timo »

This issue still seems to exist in the latest revision of the 1.7. It's not really serious, just a kind of annoying inconsistency between D3D and OpenGL drivers.

If the format for addRenderTargetTexture() is not given (ECF_UNKNOWN), in D3D it uses the same format as screen buffer. But in OpenGL it always defaults to GL_RGBA8 and gives the "Unsupported texture format" warning.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Should be fixed now, but only in SVN/trunk, because the texture format might change now to a better suited one.
link3rn3l
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:51 pm

Post by link3rn3l »

error is present in irrlicht svn:

see water demo with code:
http://otherfenixbennuprojects.googleco ... aterCC.rar









..
Bennu (Best 2d and 3D dev-tool)
http://bennupack.blogspot.com

Pixtudio (Best 2D development tool)
http://pixtudiopack.blogspot.com

Bennu3D(3D Libs for bennu)
http://3dm8ee.blogspot.com/

Colombian Developers - Blog:
http://coldev.blogspot.com/
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

There are many branches in SVN, which one do you mean?
link3rn3l
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:51 pm

Post by link3rn3l »

thanks for reply...

https://irrlicht.svn.sourceforge.net/sv ... cht/trunk/

i like use the mirrror and water code, in my game
but is opengl only
Bennu (Best 2d and 3D dev-tool)
http://bennupack.blogspot.com

Pixtudio (Best 2D development tool)
http://pixtudiopack.blogspot.com

Bennu3D(3D Libs for bennu)
http://3dm8ee.blogspot.com/

Colombian Developers - Blog:
http://coldev.blogspot.com/
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Could you add a simple test case which reproduces this error? I tested several situations and couldn't see the message anymore last time.
link3rn3l
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:51 pm

Post by link3rn3l »

hybrid wrote:Could you add a simple test case which reproduces this error? I tested several situations and couldn't see the message anymore last time.
is present in reflected shaders how water or other
reflected water examples :
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... ight=water


thanks for reply






.
Bennu (Best 2d and 3D dev-tool)
http://bennupack.blogspot.com

Pixtudio (Best 2D development tool)
http://pixtudiopack.blogspot.com

Bennu3D(3D Libs for bennu)
http://3dm8ee.blogspot.com/

Colombian Developers - Blog:
http://coldev.blogspot.com/
Post Reply