[Idea]Newb Team

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums

Is this a good idea?

Yes
70%
No
30%

Total votes: 20

mager

[Idea]Newb Team

Post by mager »

Well, This is all just an idea at the moment because I'm working on my personal project at the moment. I was thinking of starting a small team to develop games, not like a team of skilled people. I'm actually gonna find people with basic skills - but still some skills. I think it would be good for a group of new game developers to be all at the same level trying to be creative and explore ideas together. I'm not a great programmer when it comes to games, but I do have a good enough experience to learn it.

I am NOT doing any recruiting of any sort whatsoever right now, I just want an honest opinion. Do you or do you not think it would be a good idea to start a team like this?

--
Remember the team isn't to make amazing games, its to build our way up so someday we will have the knowledge to do so
--
B@z

Post by B@z »

IMPO its always good idea to make a team.
if u get better, u have to work in team, so its good if u get used to it.
But also be careful when selecting members. Its not funny, if there is 4 story writer, 5 game designer, maybe 1 not-so skilled programmer, and no modeller, or 2d artist.
mager

Post by mager »

Well one of the goals is to keep everyone learning the same stuff, if you don't have much modelling or programming skill. Theres virtually no point to be in a group thats bent on learning those 2 bases. A story writer is nice and all but if the team works together they can do it as well. Overall if the group ever winds up ending after I make it, they will be allowed to use anything we create as a group and as well they should have the knowledge to use it all quite well.
teto

Post by teto »