Does Irrlicht have them?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
mireazma

Does Irrlicht have them?

Post by mireazma »

Hello.
I'm a beginner game developer who is wandering to find the fit game engine. I checked a few both open source and commercial ones and I haven't found the right one for me. But I don't know why the heck I skipped Irrlicht so far, after all. Anyway, reading about it on Wikipedia convinced me it would be not only the best choice for me but actually continuously bringing up new and new bonus assets to add to what I was expecting!
From all these reasons I value very much the friendly community, customization, license, learning curve. Plus I've read a simple (getting started) tutorial by dudMaN which lifted a burden off my mind. He made working with Irrlicht look easy to grasp and accessible to C++/game developer newbies. So in like 10 min. I learned how to create a simple functional... game.

But I'm very curious whether Irrlicht has some features I'm particularly interested in. Even if it doesn't have them -- no problem (I've already read the official ones):

1. LOD for all possible things, besides 3D meshes: billboards, particles, terrain.

2. Dynamically replacement of 3D meshes with 2D billboards.

3. Custom palette files like 16 colors display.

4. Any way to check the bottleneck of performance: GPU / video ram / CPU / ram / code etc.

5. Multithreading.

6. Loading in background. Like when close to the level boundary, load the next one so that the player enters it seamlessly.

If they're not present, can you honestly tell me if it's feasible and recommended to implement any of them myself manually? Please.
roxaz

Post by roxaz »

no multithreading. oh and this is wrong forum section to post in :)
CuteAlien
Admin

Post by CuteAlien »

I've moved the post.

As for your questions - the answer is mostly no.

1. LOD is there for terrain.