What do you do for Audio?

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
LookingForAPath

What do you do for Audio?

Post by LookingForAPath »

Hello, I'm fairly new to the whole development area of games, programs,

and etc. Really when it comes to C++, as I really used to hate it, but it

kinda grew on me recently, so I started using it.

Anyway, I was wondering, when it comes to Audio, what do you guys usually do?

I've tried using OpenAL++, but it seems to use functions OpenAL no longer uses.

I also don't WANT to use IrrKlang because of the prices it breathing down

my neck, but I'm open to it if its really recommended.

Also, sorry about my spacing, I like to space things to make it more readable.

Thanks for all responses,
Zac
Kalango

Post by Kalango »

Well, for audio, networking and input i use SFML, but CAudio (a OpenAL wrapper) is also a pretty good idea.
LookingForAPath

Post by LookingForAPath »

Thanks, Kalango, those look pretty darn promising.

Plus I was worried about networking(if I want it for something) so SMFL
might cover that for me.
macron12388

Post by macron12388 »

Pretty bare-bones naked OpenAl does the trick for me... It is true some features might not be consistent across different builds& distributions such as OpenAL soft etc. Just be careful and compile your own libs to do what you want them to do.
Brainsaw

Post by Brainsaw »

I'm using Irrklang at the moment (might change in the future), but I always create a wrapper around anything I use (just a thin one though) so that replacement isn't that complicated (OK, a wrapper for anything but Irrlicht). I like Irrklang however but haven't yet taken a look into other engines.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
polylux