Game Programming Tutorial series

A forum to store posts deemed exceptionally wise and useful
Buck1000

Game Programming Tutorial series

Post by Buck1000 »

Hey guys, I've started a series of tutorials on game programming aimed at the complete beginner. So far, I have Part 0 done (took a long time to write!), and I will be working on the rest regularly. I'm trying to write the tutorials that I was looking for when I first ventured into the world of programming. The whole "learn by using" thing - I won't even touch classes until my second set of tutorials, since I didn't need them for my first few games.

So, if you want to learn game programming from the ground up, check out my series. You'll learn why classes are useful, by seeing what it's like without them =]

Comments and critiques would be great! =D

Check it out - http://codingb.blogspot.com/
Last edited by Buck1000 on Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
pc0de

Re: Game Programming Tutorial series

Post by pc0de »

Applaud your effort. Beginners will likely wonder why the variable example snippet won't compile:

Code: Select all

int a = "4"; //Let's assign a value to a
int b = "772456"; //And to b
int c = a + b; //You can assign a variable the result of an operation, the return value of a function, and more
float d = a / b; //Since a/b in this case is not an integer, we need a float

cout<<"a / b = "<<d; //Display it! =D 
shadowslair

Post by shadowslair »

Yeah, you`ll better remove those quotation marks. Plus the line float d = a / b; looks a bit ugly and will throw a warning. You can also change it to multiplication and keep the type (int m = a * b;), work with floats or avoid this type of 'casting' etc. And for the tutorial you need to keep things simple, so you`ll better change the a to 10 and b to say 2. This way the reader could easily guess the result and compare it with the one, generated by the code and convince himself the computer can calculate such a thing correctly.