Best way to add multiple models [SOLVED]

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
TJBaldy

Best way to add multiple models [SOLVED]

Post by TJBaldy »

I did a quick search before posting this and didn't find anything that was specific to my question.

OK so I'm new to Irrlicht, new to c++ in fact.

My question is how would be best to load different models in to my scene? I currently have about five different 3D models loaded into my scene hovering above a terrain I created from the terrain tutorial. At the moment I'm using the method from tutorial 1 where you create a mesh then a node for the mesh, then an if statement for each node. So how would be best to do it? Also, how would I go about using the same model and loading it multiple times across the terrain (e.g a tree).

Thanks for everyones replies in advance :D

Tom
Last edited by TJBaldy on Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CuteAlien
Admin

Re: Best way to add multiple models.

Post by CuteAlien »

You can have multiple nodes working with the same mesh. So you need to load the mesh just once and then can use it all over the place. Maybe check this page on Wiki if you're new to this stuff: http://www.irrlicht3d.org/wiki/index.ph ... ommonTerms

For larger scenes you will no longer load each model one-by-one in code, but instead use some scene-format. You can for example use the .irr format which allows you to create scene in irrEdit which you can load then with a single command.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
hybrid
Admin

Post by hybrid »