To what extent should one try to achieve realism in a game?

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
Cube_
Location: 0x45 61 72 74 68 2c 20 69 6e 20 74 68 65 20 73 6f 6c 20 73 79 73 74 65 6d

To what extent should one try to achieve realism in a game?

Post by Cube_ »

I mean, at what point is the transition between fun gameplay and too hard to play?
I don't have a clue how far I should pursue this noble goal of realism, as a developer I would probably find it easier to use whatever feature I make, since I know how it works.
So basically, does anyone have tips on BAD gameplay features?
"this is not the bottleneck you are looking for"
REDDemon
Developer

Re: To what extent should one try to achieve realism in a ga

Post by REDDemon »

There is no best answer to that question. Something can work and something almost identical can also be a big failure. Test test test. Your gameplay design should allows for quick changes and need to be flexible so that you can always adjust parameters/controls etc. Is almost impossible knowing in advance how gameplay feels after you finished.
Before starting making a game you shoul try to figure several (not one or two) gameplays that you can easily achieve. Then be critique on all your gameplays and spot out strong and weak points. A good strong points may suffice but also not. Don't overload yourself with over complicated gameplays and think to get something ready in few months maximum. Don't get frustated with project lasting years.

Fun gameplay means also (but not only or limited too) simple mechanics that are hard to master. ==> easy for all player, challengin for hardcorders.. but achieve that is really hard.
Junior Irrlicht Developer.
Real value in social networks is not about "increasing" number of followers, but about getting in touch with Amazing people.
- by Me
ACE247

Post by ACE247 »