Need help installing irrlicht on ubuntu

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
saadjumani

Need help installing irrlicht on ubuntu

Post by saadjumani »

Hello guys, as you can guess from the title, im a complete newbie in game development from scratch. I do have fair bit of experience of programming in C++, JavaScript and python and I have used a couple of bigger tools like Unity and Unreal but never built anything directly from just a programming language and a bunch of headers and libraries. So I was kinda thinking it is about time I change that (for personal learning).

So when I searched on how to get irrlicht, I understood there are two ways to do that. 1 Compiling from source using a whole bunch of commands in installation page, or using $ sudo apt-get update followed by $ sudo apt-get install irrlicht irrlicht-dev. Now I do not plan to make any contributions to the source code just yet(for very obvious reasons. Would love to do in future though, as I get the hang of it). Keeping that in mind, what exactly is the difference between these 2 ways of compiling from source code and getting it directly.

If it helps, I will be using Code::Blocks IDE so any hints about additional configuration I might need to do would also be appreciated.
amziraro

Re: Need help installing irrlicht on ubuntu

Post by amziraro »

Hi saadjumani,

As a Ubuntu user myself I think I can help. Unfortunately I don't use C::B so I can't help there. (Geany + Makefiles! :D )

First up, whichever you choose, only install one. You can have problems if you have both distro provided packages and manually downloaded stuff (I'll get to that latter).
Just a quick note; I'm running Ubuntu 15.10 (Wily). This information should hold for older versions, Debian Jessie and Sid and most recent Debian based Distros.

For the Distro provided Irrlicht...

Code: Select all