Stop rendering and save battery power

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
ghorwin

Stop rendering and save battery power

Post by ghorwin »

Hi there,

first of all, hi to the community (I'm new to Irrlicht) and a big compliment about this engine! Awesome.

Quick general question: when a scene is not moved by a user and not animated itself, is it possible to prevent render updates so that the graphics card won't have to refresh the view at say, 60 FPS? I'm asking because I want to conserve battery power, when simply viewing an inanimate scene.

Is it possible to put a view into a mode that caches the rendered image on screen and using double-buffering on the painting device. So that the graphics card would only be used, when:

a) resulution of view changes (scaling)
b) scene/camera position is modified by user

but not when another desktop window is moved in front of the scene view? That could save a lot of battery power.

Thanks,
Andreas
CuteAlien
Admin

Re: Stop rendering and save battery power

Post by CuteAlien »

You decide when you render, not the engine (you do beginScene(), draw-calls, endScene() somewhere in your main loop). You can render to a texture and then use that texture (set a render target texture, draw to that, then create a screen quad and put your render target texture on that... newest svn trunk version has an example for fullscreen effects with screen quad since a few days, so you might want to check that).
I don't know how much rendering a single texture vs rendering a scene is saving battery (probably depends on the complexity of the scene, but I never experimented... measuring power consumption is tricky).

Some other things you can do:
- Use vsync. Then rendering waits for whatever vsync value you have enabled (like 60 fps).