I love irrlicht, but I'm very stupid programming in it

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Noiecity

I love irrlicht, but I'm very stupid programming in it

Post by Noiecity »

I am a digital artist, but very poor in terms of irrlicht technical knowledge, I would like to build a project with someone, anything.

I can model, texture and animate anything imaginable within irrlicht's graphic capabilities (which are high), but I'm very bad at programming.

I had not programmed in c++ until I met irrlicht a few months ago, I loved it, everything complicated about directx9 sdk in easy mode and on a serving tray, but I am very stupid

I just want to see my art reflected in some irrlicht game u_u

aid :(

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
If you are looking for people with whom to develop your game, even to try functionalities, I can help you, free and in an anonymous way if necessary. You can send me a private message.

https://www.artstation.com/noiecty
CuteAlien
Admin

Re: I love irrlicht, but I'm very stupid programming in it

Post by CuteAlien »

Maybe also give Godot a shot. It's a bit easier to get into than Irrlicht maybe.

And I hope you have some IDE and don't just work with Nodepad++ and Makefiles? I mean - it's OK if you prefer that (some people do), but Visual Studio probably makes life a bit easier.

I'd also recommend switching to svn trunk version of Irrlicht. It's just better by now than the official 1.8.5 release.

Good luck either way :-)
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Noiecity

Post by Noiecity »

If you are looking for people with whom to develop your game, even to try functionalities, I can help you, free and in an anonymous way if necessary. You can send me a private message.

Noiecity