Page 1 of 1

how to to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames?

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2024 4:28 pm
by Noiecity
is there any way to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames? for example, that every 5 frames recalculates the position, but that maintains the visual effect, that is to say, that when deactivating still remains the visual effect of the shadow.

It can be with shadow volume or xeffects, I would like to confirm the performance improvement if I do this.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Re: how to to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames?

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2024 5:41 pm
by CuteAlien
Ouf, there's maybe some messed up tricks involving lightmanager and finding and removing and adding back the CShadowVolumeSceneNode, but if this is just for a profiling test I'd just modify the engine.

Like add a frame counter in CMeshSceneNode and then check that in CMeshSceneNode::render() before the updateShadowVolumes call. Or in CAnimatedMeshSceneNode.

If it's a feature you really need we can add some function to either IMeshSceneNode or IShadowVolumeSceneNode which tells nodes to update/not update their shadow volume (then you'd have to do it manually which is likely fine).

Or maybe some other hack might work: After addShadowVolumeSceneNode grab() it yourself and then remove it from the node. I think it keeps access to the Mesh. So now you have full control. You can call updateShadowVolumes whenever you want. But you have to call OnRegisterSceneNode() for it (every frame) and you have to set position, rotation manually to the old parent position,rotation (as it's no longer a child now - also every frame).

Maybe there are more options, don't know :)

Re: how to to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames?

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2024 6:27 pm
by Noiecity
CuteAlien wrote: Wed Nov 06, 2024 5:41 pm Ouf, there's maybe some messed up tricks involving lightmanager and finding and removing and adding back the CShadowVolumeSceneNode, but if this is just for a profiling test I'd just modify the engine.

Like add a frame counter in CMeshSceneNode and then check that in CMeshSceneNode::render() before the updateShadowVolumes call. Or in CAnimatedMeshSceneNode.

If it's a feature you really need we can add some function to either IMeshSceneNode or IShadowVolumeSceneNode which tells nodes to update/not update their shadow volume (then you'd have to do it manually which is likely fine).

Or maybe some other hack might work: After addShadowVolumeSceneNode grab() it yourself and then remove it from the node. I think it keeps access to the Mesh. So now you have full control. You can call updateShadowVolumes whenever you want. But you have to call OnRegisterSceneNode() for it (every frame) and you have to set position, rotation manually to the old parent position,rotation (as it's no longer a child now - also every frame).

Maybe there are more options, don't know :)
Please add it mr. CuteAlien! I would be very grateful, I've been trying many things, but I can't do without the irrlicht shadow volume, if you could set this up it would be perfect! :mrgreen:

Re: how to to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames?

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2024 11:09 pm
by CuteAlien
OK, with svn trunk r6671 you have now IShadowVolumeSceneNode::setFreeze which has 3 options (don't freeze, freeze after update, freeze current shadow volumes). If you want more complex behavior, like update only every x frames, you have to do your own counter to freeze/unfreeze correspondingly.

To access the IShadowVolumeSceneNode either remember it when calling addShadowVolumeSceneNode or search all the children of your node for those with type ESNT_SHADOW_VOLUME.

Re: how to to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames?

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2024 11:17 pm
by Noiecity
CuteAlien wrote: Wed Nov 06, 2024 11:09 pm OK, with svn trunk r6671 you have now IShadowVolumeSceneNode::setFreeze which has 3 options (don't freeze, freeze after update, freeze current shadow volumes). If you want more complex behavior, like update only every x frames, you have to do your own counter to freeze/unfreeze correspondingly.

To access the IShadowVolumeSceneNode either remember it when calling addShadowVolumeSceneNode or search all the children of your node for those with type ESNT_SHADOW_VOLUME.
Thank you! thank you very much! I hope to put it into practice soon, it's for a scenario I'm making, it's a rocky dungeon with a dirt floor, I have an orc and a goblin, I plan to make a mini test with the robot and show it here soon :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Re: how to to obtain shadow volume every certain amount of frames?

Posted: Thu Nov 07, 2024 12:22 am
by CuteAlien
No problem :-) I think it's actually a quite useful feature.