Problems with animated MS3D mesh

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.

Problems with animated MS3D mesh

Post by Guest »

Hi there,

I'm totally new to the Irrlicht engine and run into troubles just at my first attempt to do anything :?

I have created a very simple animated MS3D object (a bending cylinder) an load it into the HelloWorld example instead of the default model (no further modifications to the code). But what I get as result is far from what I expected.

First the number of frames is not identical to the number of frames I have in Milkshape. Instead it is n * 1000 / fps (with n = number of frames in Milkshape, fps = FPS set in the milkshape preferences). Playback in the program is therefore way too slow, I have to set the playback rate to 1000 frames per second.

Furthermore the animation is disturbed by a number of frames preceding my defined animation where the cylinder is not animated but looks like a train had rolled over it :D The amount of frames where this happens is dependant on the FPS rate I defined in Milkshape.

Any idea what I am doing wrong here? Thanks in advance for any tip.

Post by Guest »

Come on,

nobody here who ever had problems with animated MS3D models? In the meantime I tried something even smaller (a cylinder with only one joint and an animation where it is just moved a bit in one direction) and I still have the same problem: Wrong number of frames and the mesh is heavily distorted.

What I'm doing here is so basic, someone just must have encountered a similar problem.

If not, does someone have any animated MS3D model that works in the Irrlicht engine so I can check if perhaps something else is wrong on my system?
saigumi

Post by saigumi »

So, your having problems because your including the frames before your animation with the previous animation? Did you correctly set the start frame?