Page 1 of 1

large 3d models

Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 11:46 am
by Ragnarokk007
When I load large 3d models into the engine, it says that there are too many triangles. Is there a way to set the maximum triangles?

Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 12:20 pm
by schick
Well, i should have read the Irrlicht sources but i would say Irrlicht saved the triangle count in an unsigned int so if you exceed the maximal number of an unsigned int you will have such a error message.

Possible solution: Edit the model load function to use a greater value to hold the triangle count.

Cheers,

Schick

Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 12:33 pm
by hybrid
Its an usigned short, i.e. around 65000 triangles. But there is a 32bit patch which makes it an unsigned int, i.e. about 4 billion triangles, which should suffice.

Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 2:51 pm
by afecelis
wow, so far the Irrlicht engine hasn't complied of anything I throw at it! and it renders quite fast some large levels with terrain and models and stuff. You sure must have a complex scene!

@hybrid: any link to such patch?

Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 3:47 pm
by Chris
I think this is the thread you'll want http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=5223.

I sure hope 4,294,967,296 triangles is enough for you :P . I may be showing off with that, or I may be varifying what billion means.

Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 7:24 pm
by hybrid
afecelis wrote:@hybrid: any link to such patch?
Sure, on my patch page http://parsys.informatik.uni-oldenburg. ... d/irrlicht. I changed the patch from IrrSpintz to work with Irrlicht 0.9 (don't know if something was changed, though; anyway I provide a patch which should be simple to apply).