Basic C++ optimization question

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Midnight

Basic C++ optimization question

Post by Midnight »

I'm a tutorial taught coder so I don't really know alot of what is proper.

Code: Select all

//example 

int a = 1600;

driver->draw2DRectangle(SColor(0,0,0,0)rect<32>(0,a,0,a))
Would it be wise to attempt to optimize this way?

Does it actually save compile time or system resources or make any difference at all to do something like this?

If "int a" were removed and 1600 put in it's place I mean.

At least 50 charactors would take the place of "a".
Jarlaxle

Post by Jarlaxle »

The point of using a local variable is readability in most cases. Also, in your example, if you wanted to change the value from 1600 to 1500, you can simply change the variable instead of all the hard-coded numbers.

From a performance point of view I don't see much point in using the variable. The compiler has to allocate the memory for an int, but that's not that much effort. What might help optimize your code is declaring the variable as const, as the compiler might be able to do something with that. Good compilers will even automatically use the constant value for const variables, which should improve execution time.

But I'm not an optimization expert, maybe someone will contradict me here.
There are only 10 kinds of people - those that know binary and those that don't.
Electron

Post by Electron »