I love Irrlicht

Discuss about anything related to the Irrlicht Engine, or read announcements about any significant features or usage changes.
rakkar

I love Irrlicht

Post by rakkar »

I'm a professional game programmer and the author of RakNet. I want to say publicly that I love Irrlicht. The documentation is A+. The design is clean, intuitive, and easy to use. The code is easy to read and modify. The engine is powerful enough to do everything I want to do. None of the features are superfluous or a burden to use. And the performance is fantastic. I quickly find fault with most APIs that I look at yet haven't found a single thing I don't like yet about Irrlicht.

What appeals to me most about Irrlicht is that it is not obtrusive. I don't have to design my architecture a certain way. To read and use the code in the samples I can copy a few lines of code, as opposed to a dozen files in some libraries. I don't have to write XML files to design an interface, spend 20 minutes recompiling after every change, download dependencies, or change source files just to compile the samples.

This is the same priciple that i use in RakNet. The API is supposed to save you time, not cost you time. It's nice to see I'm not the only API author that understands this.

Good job!
bal

Post by bal »

That's great to hear :).
General Tools List
General FAQ
System: AMD Barton 2600+, 512MB, 9600XT 256MB, WinXP + FC3
etcaptor

Post by etcaptor »

Yes, especially from the author of RakNet.
ImageImage
Site development -Rock and metal online
--- etcaptor.com ------freenetlife.com
Priest

Post by Priest »

Hey, that was very nice to hear :D
I would like to say the same things about the RakNet libabry.
Great piece of soft.
niko
Site Admin

Re: I love Irrlicht

Post by niko »

Thanks for the detailed, positive feedback, nice to hear that you like it. Did you take a look at Irrlicht because of the raknet tutorial I posted on the front page? :)
Midnight

Post by Midnight »