New to Irrlicht

Irrlicht.Net is no longer developed or supported, Irrlicht.Net Cross Platform is a much more complete wrapper. Please ask your C# related questions on their forums first.
magikos

New to Irrlicht

Post by magikos »

Hi everyone, I am new to Irrlicht and I'd like to say I really love it so far. I have just a few questions I was hoping to see answered.

1) I see how to draw a 2D line on the screen, but how do I draw a 2D circle? I need to draw a circle around one of my objects.

2) I need to know what object is under my cursor - I've played with this, but seem to keep selecting my camera node or the skybox node??

3) How do I skin/change the look of the UI elements?

4) How do I know when a UI element has focus or is being dragged, a window element for example?

I humbly request any and all help.

Thank you
Foole

Post by Foole »

For #2, I use the id field when creating an object and the idBitMask field when calling any of the GetSceneNodeFrom functions.

eg:

Code: Select all

public enum ObjId
	{
		Map = 1,
		Camera = 2,
		OurChar = 4,
		OtherChar = 8,
		Light = 16,
	}

mNode = Global.Scene.AddAnimatedMeshSceneNode(mesh, null, (int)(IsPlayer ? ObjId.OurChar : ObjId.OtherChar ));

selectednode = Global.Scene.SceneCollisionManager.GetSceneNodeFromScreenCoordinatesBB(Global.Device.CursorControl.Position, (int)ObjId.OtherChar);
This makes it so I will only get 'other char' objects.
magikos

Post by magikos »

Thanks, I see now what I was doing wrong on object selection - however, for some reason I'm not able to get back my mesh object, only my billboard object:

device.SceneManager.AddBillboardSceneNode(null, new Dimension2Df(10,10), new Vector3D(0,0,0), 2);
device.SceneManager.AddAnimatedMeshSceneNode(planetMesh, null, 4);

node = device.SceneManager.SceneCollisionManager.GetSceneNodeFromScreenCoordinatesBB(mouse, 2|4);
Any idea what I am doing wrong there?

Thanks again!
magikos

Post by magikos »