Irrlicht on two screens

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
Kuehrli
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Linz, AT

Irrlicht on two screens

Post by Kuehrli »

Hi,

does anyone have any experiences with Irrlicht-based applications that make use of multiple monitors?

I wrote two samples based on the tutorials so far:

First, I render with OpenGL, use one window spanned over both screens and set one viewport for each screen. This runs stable, but the performance gets lowered by having one render-call for each viewport (like in the splitscreen tutorial) and by the fact that I can't switch to fullscreen.

Second, I use an Irrlicht-extension by sdi2000: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=17277 where I create a multihead-device with Direct3D9. So I can switch both screens to fullscreen, but my framerate gets a strange behaviour - every few frames the time to render rises from 5ms to 30ms. So I have to lower the framerate to a constant number, otherwise this behaviour gets visible.

Does anyone have an explanation for these peaks under Direct3D9 or do you know a better solution for this kind of application? I have to mention that performance is a critical issue because my application has to run on hardware-limited systems.

Thanks in advance.
Kuehrli
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Linz, AT

Post by Kuehrli »

I'm very sorry, but I have to ask again:
Any experiences with this topic? Any ideas how to create an irrlicht-application on two screens?

Every hint is usefull for me - even if you tell me that there is no other solution than those I've already tested! 8)
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

What about creating borderless windows on each display and use the external window scheme to let Irrlicht draw into exisiting windows? You should pass the window id with endScene to render into several windows.
But, as written in another thread, this is not yet working with OpenGL.
Post Reply