z-buffer? ugly stairway steps
-
- Posts: 164
- Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
- Location: Germany Berlin
- Contact:
z-buffer? ugly stairway steps
i don't know how this effect is called in english so my tries to search of a solution were without success.
i have this ugly effect if i try to set water within my terrain
from a closer view it look's like that.
and far away so
what can i do ? it should be a straight coastal line without these ugly edge
i have this ugly effect if i try to set water within my terrain
from a closer view it look's like that.
and far away so
what can i do ? it should be a straight coastal line without these ugly edge
Last edited by LordNaikon on Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:36 am, edited 2 times in total.
q|^.^|p beeing every time friendly to everyone
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
-
- Posts: 292
- Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:28 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
don't know how to avoid this. perhaps you could cut off the landscape under the wather.
And then you draw the water first and than the landscape.
And then you draw the water first and than the landscape.
http://www.games-forge.de - Die Community für Nachwuchsprogrammierer
-
- Posts: 164
- Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
- Location: Germany Berlin
- Contact:
I HAVE IT !!
the fullscreen mode iss the rogue ! if i run it in windowed mode i have nice coastal line !!
the 2nd error or strangely thing with the fullscreen mode!
the fullscreen mode iss the rogue ! if i run it in windowed mode i have nice coastal line !!
the 2nd error or strangely thing with the fullscreen mode!
Last edited by LordNaikon on Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:37 am, edited 2 times in total.
q|^.^|p beeing every time friendly to everyone
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
-
- Posts: 292
- Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:28 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Sorry, don't know, what could matter this effect
http://www.games-forge.de - Die Community für Nachwuchsprogrammierer
Hi, sorry dass ich auf deutsch antworte, aber ich hab keine Ahnung wie ich das mit meinem besch*** englisch ausdrücken soll.
Ich kenne dein problem. Habe ich selber gehabt als ich meine TerrainEngine für OpenGL programmierte. Letztendlich hat nur die erhöhing der Z Buffer tiefe und die erhöhung der Pixeltiefe auf jeweils 32bit abhilfe geschaft.
du kannst es ja mal versuchen, ich bin mir aber nicht sicher es funktioniert, dass es aber im fullscreenmode nicht und im windowed schon funtioniert deutet schon darauf hin.
Marcus
Ich kenne dein problem. Habe ich selber gehabt als ich meine TerrainEngine für OpenGL programmierte. Letztendlich hat nur die erhöhing der Z Buffer tiefe und die erhöhung der Pixeltiefe auf jeweils 32bit abhilfe geschaft.
du kannst es ja mal versuchen, ich bin mir aber nicht sicher es funktioniert, dass es aber im fullscreenmode nicht und im windowed schon funtioniert deutet schon darauf hin.
Marcus
Not following the deutsche 100% but I beleive in English the term would be an Artefact.
And I think it might be to do with the fact that the fullscreen z-buffer and windowed z-buffer are usually set separately.
I'd just double check the setup of the fullscreen mode and it's screen attributes (zbufer, coulour depth, stencil etc)
BTW make sure you have enough resolution in the z-buffer. ie don't include the zbuffer in calcs less than 1. It takes too much of the resolution for stuff near the camera.
BTW you could use the stencil buffer to explictly turn pixels off or on from drawn polys.
Hope that helps
And I think it might be to do with the fact that the fullscreen z-buffer and windowed z-buffer are usually set separately.
I'd just double check the setup of the fullscreen mode and it's screen attributes (zbufer, coulour depth, stencil etc)
BTW make sure you have enough resolution in the z-buffer. ie don't include the zbuffer in calcs less than 1. It takes too much of the resolution for stuff near the camera.
BTW you could use the stencil buffer to explictly turn pixels off or on from drawn polys.
Hope that helps
-= Want your C code to control real life robots? www.users.on.net/~symes =-
-
- Posts: 164
- Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
- Location: Germany Berlin
- Contact:
thx @Marcus & dingo
i was searching for a funktion or a flag in the docu but i don't find them.
i only find a boolean flag how enabled or disabled the zbuffer in
driver->beginScene(...., true, ....) // the second parameter
i think you use this funktion so can you tell mell how?
i was searching for a funktion or a flag in the docu but i don't find them.
i only find a boolean flag how enabled or disabled the zbuffer in
driver->beginScene(...., true, ....) // the second parameter
i think you use this funktion so can you tell mell how?
q|^.^|p beeing every time friendly to everyone
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
-
- Posts: 292
- Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:28 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
@LordNaikon:
You wrote an terrain engine? Please, let me see!
You wrote an terrain engine? Please, let me see!
http://www.games-forge.de - Die Community für Nachwuchsprogrammierer
-
- Posts: 164
- Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
- Location: Germany Berlin
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 292
- Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:28 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Is the terrain scene node an standard node of the Irrlicht Engine 0.6? Never seen this in the documentationLordNaikon wrote:NO i don't! i only used the engine included terrain secene nodeYou wrote an terrain engine? Please, let me see!
http://www.games-forge.de - Die Community für Nachwuchsprogrammierer
-
- Posts: 164
- Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
- Location: Germany Berlin
- Contact:
wow never seen so many quotes at all
Code: Select all
video::IImage* iHeightMap = driver->createImageFromFile("terrain.JPG");
video::IImage* iTerrain = driver->createImageFromFile("terrain_texture.jpg");
scene::IAnimatedMesh* iTerrainMesh = smgr->addTerrainMesh("iTerrainMesh", iTerrain, iHeightMap,core::dimension2d< f32 >(100.0f, 100.0f),5000.0f);
scene::ISceneNode* iTerrainNode = smgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(iTerrainMesh);
q|^.^|p beeing every time friendly to everyone
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
-
- Posts: 292
- Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:28 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Year, actually playing a bit with the ITerrainSceneNode.
@Unarekin:
You call this http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=2551 a bit buggy
@Unarekin:
You call this http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=2551 a bit buggy
http://www.games-forge.de - Die Community für Nachwuchsprogrammierer
Sure.Peter Müller wrote:Year, actually playing a bit with the ITerrainSceneNode.
@Unarekin:
You call this http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=2551 a bit buggy
-
- Posts: 292
- Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:28 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
What sould the detail map do? There's no difference between using it and setting NULL.
http://www.games-forge.de - Die Community für Nachwuchsprogrammierer