Project Star Harrier (screens and demo)
-
- Posts: 109
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:18 pm
That looks very promising. I like the explosions.
How did you do them? What material are you using so you have an alpha channel and transparency?
How did you do them? What material are you using so you have an alpha channel and transparency?
Crimson Glory full Irrlicht game source code!
What I Do - my blog & dev log
Currently developing Link-Dead
What I Do - my blog & dev log
Currently developing Link-Dead
Yeah, reflection would be a nice effect wouldn't it, maybe if I have a level with more cristaline waters i will use it, I don't think I would look good in this dark sea. That and I'm a bit lazy .lostclimategames wrote:checked it out on a friends computer. definately a nice start. It has a real feel for speed. very fun. I would recommend tho that even if you dont render a reflection on the water, to at least take a copy of the player model and render it upside down under water so it at least looks like a fake reflection. overall very nice though.
I think you are asking how do you use the alpha channel other than cutting the sprite, also making it gradually transparent?How did you do them? What material are you using so you have an alpha channel and transparency?
you have to tell irrlicht to use the full range of the alpha channel, for some reason its capped at 0.5.
I do it like this, it's the code of the setup of the smoke particle of the misile trails.
Code: Select all
bnode = smgr->addBillboardSceneNode();
bnode->setSize(core::dimension2d< f32 >(40.0f, 40.0f));
bnode->getMaterial(0).TextureLayer[0].Texture = driver->getTexture("../data/misilesmoke.png");
bnode->setMaterialType(video::EMT_TRANSPARENT_ALPHA_CHANNEL);
bnode->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_LIGHTING, false);
bnode->getMaterial(0).MaterialTypeParam= 0.01f; // <<--- this is the important line
bnode->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_ZWRITE_ENABLE, false);
I hope it was this what you where asking!
There were graphic problems for me. Looked kind of like what I've had before when a render target texture is too big???
My card does support GLSL, but probably some really old version, and it often gets upset when shaders are too long.
Let the console display, it might say something interesting (log.txt stays empty).
Failing that put a video on youtube, I wanna see what all the fuss is about
My card does support GLSL, but probably some really old version, and it often gets upset when shaders are too long.
Let the console display, it might say something interesting (log.txt stays empty).
Failing that put a video on youtube, I wanna see what all the fuss is about
hanks for trying it. You are not the first to suggest a video, I tried to make one with fraps and then convert it with anyvideoconverter but I can't seem to find a good quality for youtube, somenone knows wich is the best option?xDan wrote:Failing that put a video on youtube, I wanna see what all the fuss is about
I've uploaded a video to youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzTvrQyMnR0
I hope the quality is good enough..
Suggestion: Put that video link in the first post..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzTvrQyMnR0
I hope the quality is good enough..
Suggestion: Put that video link in the first post..
Thanks for the vid! I've already put it in the first post.
The quality is OK but I noticed that even though the post process seems to work fine for you, the sea doesn't render properly, as if the sun position is wrong (no sun highlight on the water). Sometimes I hate shaders and the guys that code drivers with a passion.
The quality is OK but I noticed that even though the post process seems to work fine for you, the sea doesn't render properly, as if the sun position is wrong (no sun highlight on the water). Sometimes I hate shaders and the guys that code drivers with a passion.
Nice game, love the post-processing effects, explosions and models.
BTW, you accidentally stuck another copy of your zip folder in you dat file, adding another 2.5mb to the size
Also, on line 13 of your vertex program for the water:
On strict ATI compilers this will generate an error, replace the "2" with "2.0". Yeah I know ATI is very fussy This should fix problems with water not showing on some pcs.
Good luck
BTW, you accidentally stuck another copy of your zip folder in you dat file, adding another 2.5mb to the size
Also, on line 13 of your vertex program for the water:
Code: Select all
Texcoord = gl_MultiTexCoord0.xy + Texdesp/2;
Good luck
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:47 pm
- Location: montreal
- Contact:
fail to run, says application config is wrong
Hi Killua,
I DL the zip, unzipped click on exe, says this app could not run, config is wrong.
Do I need something not standard to run it ?
Robert
I DL the zip, unzipped click on exe, says this app could not run, config is wrong.
Do I need something not standard to run it ?
Robert
If it can't be writen, it can't exist
-
- Posts: 222
- Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:03 pm
- Location: Miami, Florida
- Contact: