MD3 questions

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

MD3 questions

Post by B@z »

Hi!

I want to make a game what uses MD3 models.
But the MD3 models are seperated to 3 parts, head, upper,lower.

how can I attach it?
I was searching a lot, but didn't find the answer.

i found that:

Code: Select all

head->getMD3Tag
but the program don't what's getMD3Tag.

Code: Select all

head->getMD3TagTransformation
this is there, but it isn't that i think :D

so, how can i attach them?

and an other:
can i make tags? so, don't just head torso, legs, and weapon, but more? like clothes, or accessaries. or how can i do it( if don't tag)?

thanks

edit: ohh, and i have an other problem:

Code: Select all

		IAnimatedMesh* model1 = smgr->getMesh("captiana\\head.md3");
it loads the model perfectly but when i close my program, i get this message:
Unhandled exception at 0x1002999d (Irrlicht.dll) in TPS.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0xcdcdcdd5.

Code: Select all

	//! deallocate memory for an array of objects
	void deallocate(T* ptr)
	{
		internal_delete(ptr);
	}
edit2: and one more :D
the MD3 model (just the upper ^^; ) doesn't want to move..

Code: Select all

		body = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(smgr->getMesh("captiana\\upper.md3"));
		body->setMaterialTexture(0,driver->getTexture("captiana\\blue.tga"));
		body->setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING,false);
		body->setPosition(vector3df(-70,-60,0));
		ISceneNodeAnimator *anim = 
			device->getSceneManager()->createFlyStraightAnimator(vector3df(-200,-40,0),vector3df(200,-40,0),2000,true);
		body->addAnimator(anim);
		anim->drop();
this code works with md2 but why won't my md3 model move?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

The md3 model support is not yet finished (which is also why it is not yet promoted). Moreover, the development is on hold for the moment, don't know when these problems will be fixed.
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

i see... so what should i use? ms3d?

the tags are important for me. i want to know where to place the next model (i want to make custom characters, so, it's important)

i heard that ms3d can handle it. (with joint). is this true? xD
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yes, the skeletal animations do support joints where meshes can be attached. If you can export your meshes to any of .ms3d, .b3d, or .x you could try to go that way.
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

thanks for the reply. i will try .b3d ^^v
qqta
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:05 am

Post by qqta »

B@z, are you successful?
i just wondering.. coz i have the same problem..
can you tell me what exporter do you use to export your md3 model to other formats? is it working in irrlicht now?
thx
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

well, they said that md3 isn't supported yet, so i gave up.
i'm using b3d for my game.
and i use milkshape. that can import md3 and export b3d.

and i'm asking my questions in another topic. so there you can see my work :D

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... highlight=
Post Reply