New Tiled Terrain Scene Node [works with Irr 1.5]
Smooth: when i have recompiled the demo with irr1.4 the terrain was not so mooth as the demo with irr1.3.1 ... so i thought that the smoothing using normals doesn't work the same as in irr1.3.1 .
That's why i have made this smoothing function using Bezier curves.
How is the performances gain between vertex arrays and VBOs ?
If you would use the SMeshBufferLightMap, i not advise you made this change : on the french forum (irrlicht.fr) a member has created a terrain scene node using SMeshBufferLightMap... and the perf was not pretty good... (link : http://www.irrlicht.fr/forum/viewtopic.php?id=336 )
That's why i have made this smoothing function using Bezier curves.
Yeah i really agree with you^^Vsk wrote:blindside+arras... what else we could to expect
How is the performances gain between vertex arrays and VBOs ?
If you would use the SMeshBufferLightMap, i not advise you made this change : on the french forum (irrlicht.fr) a member has created a terrain scene node using SMeshBufferLightMap... and the perf was not pretty good... (link : http://www.irrlicht.fr/forum/viewtopic.php?id=336 )
Oh right, I was using the normal SMeshBuffer myself because I had a shader that only needed one set of texcoords. I'll have to see if theres a way around using SMeshBufferLightMap, or if the issues on that thread have been fixed. (I can't read french but I saw some screenshots of artifacts and someone mentioned a 50% speed loss).
EDIT: Hold up, that scene node has nothing to do with Arras's tiled terrain, and it uses a shader that splats 4 textures. I see alot of reasons why it would be slower than the usual Irrlicht terrain.
Infact Arras's tiled terrain is already slower if you make it the same resolution. Usually it runs faster because it is scaled very large so you are only seeing a small part of the mesh, and the normals are smoothed nicely so you don't see it as low detail.
To be honest, I didn't notice much difference between arrays and VBOs in Arras's terrain. I need to debug it and see why because in most cases I would get a 100% increase. I think it's because the current program I am using it in is fillrate-limited, so I will have to make a smaller testcase program to showcase the speed.
EDIT: Hold up, that scene node has nothing to do with Arras's tiled terrain, and it uses a shader that splats 4 textures. I see alot of reasons why it would be slower than the usual Irrlicht terrain.
Infact Arras's tiled terrain is already slower if you make it the same resolution. Usually it runs faster because it is scaled very large so you are only seeing a small part of the mesh, and the normals are smoothed nicely so you don't see it as low detail.
To be honest, I didn't notice much difference between arrays and VBOs in Arras's terrain. I need to debug it and see why because in most cases I would get a 100% increase. I think it's because the current program I am using it in is fillrate-limited, so I will have to make a smaller testcase program to showcase the speed.
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Still, that has nothing to do with using a MeshBuffer. If you look at whats happening underneath, using a MeshBuffer is the exact same thing, except with VBOs it allows you to store a link to the hardware buffer.
Cheers
Cheers
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:59 pm
I have a question too.
How hard would it be to take this and make it page the terrain?
It would have to hold some sort of file or image to contain a height map (probably a gray scale image) that when placed in the center produces some sort of terrain from the gray values. Outside that map it would place the terrain at a standard level and that level would then proceed to go on nearly forever (until reaches a high limit)
I would think it wouldn't be hard, but let's say you have a massive terrain. Obviously you would need some way to only load sections of it that is needed. (like 500 meters x 500 meters around the camera at any given moment).
Sorry if that wasn't clear. How hard would that be to do? Could you point me in the right direction if it is possible?
Edit: Also, does this work with Irrlicht 1.4.1?
How hard would it be to take this and make it page the terrain?
It would have to hold some sort of file or image to contain a height map (probably a gray scale image) that when placed in the center produces some sort of terrain from the gray values. Outside that map it would place the terrain at a standard level and that level would then proceed to go on nearly forever (until reaches a high limit)
I would think it wouldn't be hard, but let's say you have a massive terrain. Obviously you would need some way to only load sections of it that is needed. (like 500 meters x 500 meters around the camera at any given moment).
Sorry if that wasn't clear. How hard would that be to do? Could you point me in the right direction if it is possible?
Edit: Also, does this work with Irrlicht 1.4.1?
-
- Posts: 1691
- Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm
terrain
Is there a prebuilt version that I could download?.
I like the scene node but I don't want to build it from source.
I like the scene node but I don't want to build it from source.
That would be illogical captain...
My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
-
- Posts: 1691
- Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm
ohhh
Hehhehe ummmmm....oops.... it was early in the morning when I posted this, you know when your brain is still in.... boot up?.
That would be illogical captain...
My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar