problem switching to Irrlicht 1.4.2

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

I hate to say this (no, I love it :twisted: ) but it seems I discovered this already some times ago:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=27790

with my (debuged) version I have no problems loading this map:
Image
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

Bad news for me
Neither the compiled svn/trunk nor the files from Acki gave me the expected results. :(

I guess I tried nearly all possible variations :P Will have another try tomorrow ;)
Image
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

Masterhawk wrote:Neither the compiled svn/trunk nor the files from Acki gave me the expected results. :(
uhhh, this made me curious, so I did some testings with my patched files...
and something very strange turned out:
if you compile Irrlicht in debug mode then it doesn't work (no textures are loaded) !!! :shock:
you'll have to compile the dll in release mode and everything is fine !!!

EDIT: it's even stranger !!!
I tried to track down the exact cause and it's not the DEBUG define, but an optimization flag !!! :shock:
in release mode I use "Optimize fully (for speed) [-O3]" !!!
if you disable this optimization flag the textures are not found, only if this flag is enabled it works correctly !!!
maybe it also works with the other speed optimizations (-O, -O1 and -O2) - didn't test them... ;)

EDIT 2: ok, I also tested the other opt. flags and it turned out that the textures are only loaded if -O2 or -O3 is enabled !!!

but it's really over my head why !?!?! :shock:
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

For me (with Linux and latest SVN/trunk) this works with or without optimization. The textures also loaded correctly even with older revisions, but were multiply loaded. I've not yet checked with 1.4.x.
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

While my today's testings I noticed that the result depends on the driver I choose:

svn/trunk [compiled as release]: Multiple texture loadings
  • [OpenGL] corrupted textures
    [SOFTWARE + BURNINGSVIDEO] correct display of the textures
I cannot test this with DirectX9 since I have no compiled-in dx9 irrlicht dll.

The optimization, whether it was -O2 or -O3, had any effect on the result


EDIT:
[Irrlicht 1.4.2 + Acki's files]
In Debug mode there occur very strange results
Image
Image
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

Masterhawk wrote: [Irrlicht 1.4.2 + Acki's files]
In Debug mode there occur very strange results
yes, that's what I get without -O2 and -O3, too:
Image
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

With [Irrlicht 1.4.2 + Acki files + DEBUG + -O2] the textures load only once but the corrupted textures still remain.
@Acki: Do the textures are also displayed correct when you use OPEN_GL as renderer?
Image
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

Masterhawk wrote:@Acki: Do the textures are also displayed correct when you use OPEN_GL as renderer?
yes, everything is fine with all drivers (SW, BV, OGL, DX8 and DX9):
Image
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

Looks like corrupted texture problem is caused by mipmaps not being generated correctly on your system, and is completely unrelated to the My3D loading problems. I'm guessing this is due to your graphics drivers saying they can create mipmaps but failing to do so on NPOT textures.
So what's your graphics card, OS and driver version? Is it an Intel mobile driver under Linux?
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

BTW: Just tested with the 1.4.x branch (still under Linux), working without problems :)
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

My Sys:

CPU: AMD 64 4000+
GPU: ATI 1800XT
Graphics Driver: Catalyst 8.9
OS: Windows XP SP3
IDE: VS2008

The strange thing is, that the problem didn't occur with irrlicht 1.1

@hybrid: what's your gpu?
Image
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

ATI non power of two texture support in OpenGL just sucks. :roll:
To get rid of the corruption, try scaling your textures to the nearest powers of two. std_stone_003.jpg looks fine in your screenshot, and that's 256x256
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

@bitplane: thx, i will try that asap

EDIT: Well I have to say...it works! I have no more crippled textures.
But now I have nearly the same problem Acki has. When I run the app from my IDE everything works fine but when I execute it via double-click the textures are gone. The error is nearly the same like on the upper pictures on this page.

EDIT2: Well finally I tested all possible variations.

[1.4.2 + Acki Files] corrupted filenames (no texture loadings) when run outside the IDE

[svn/trunk] multiple loadings of the textures


[svn/branch] everything works fine!!! just tested it with the small example but i guess it will work with my game, too!
Image
Post Reply