Keeping the previous load zone in sight

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
Post Reply
Daystar
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:53 pm
Contact:

Keeping the previous load zone in sight

Post by Daystar »

Hello all I'm not sure if this is the right area to post this but you know when a character moves from one loading zone to the next when you look back you can still see the previous load zone...How would you do this using Irrlicht? Is this even Posible?
DayStar
vitek
Bug Slayer
Posts: 3919
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Post by vitek »

Don't unload the previous zone until it is out of view and the character is some distance away (at least so far away that you can reload it before it would need to come back into view). This discussion is not really Irrlicht specific as Irrlicht doesn't support paging and dynamic loading of zones based on character position. That would all be logic that is specific to your application.

Travis
Aelis440
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Post by Aelis440 »

The short answer is yes.

However, there is a lot of ambiguity in what you are asking. A "loading zone" is something that you code and develop on your own, which is outside of what Irrlicht is conerned with. I believe that you want different "areas to load" in your game, but you still want to render all your art within the camera's view distance. This is certainly possible. However, before I go into more detail, I suggest you give your own question some more detail.

edit: beaten by Vitek :(
Daystar
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Daystar »

Yea I understand that u can't use irrlicht to do that, I was just wondering if it was a way for me to do it without having to keep the previous map on screen/
DayStar
BlindSide
Admin
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:09 am
Location: NZ!

Post by BlindSide »

You're asking if you can see something that's not there? Hey hey, if a tree falls in the woods and theres nobody around, what sound does it make?
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
dlangdev
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:28 pm
Location: Beaverton OR
Contact:

Post by dlangdev »

Daystar wrote:Yea I understand that u can't use irrlicht to do that, I was just wondering if it was a way for me to do it without having to keep the previous map on screen/
Can we come back to this question next year? Looks pretty mysterious at the moment. Why would Daystar go that way is simply way beyond me.
Image
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

You could keep 3 zones in memory at once, i.e. the one that your actor is in, plus the two on either side.

Alternatively, have zones that overlap slightly and duplicate the transition regions in each adjacent zone. You can design your levels to hide the limited extent of each zone. If your game is set in an interior environment, do the transitions (for example) in a winding hallway where your view is limited. You can see this design in (e.g.) Half Life and (very obviously) in Deus Ex.

If you want smoother transitions, as in GTA: San Andreas, then you're going to have to implement streaming loading and LOD switching, which requires heavy magic.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
roelor
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:06 am

Post by roelor »

Or make a texture for the skybox of the previous zone.
Post Reply