Texture correction

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
azari
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Texture correction

Post by azari »

Hi again. I have (yet another) problem... and I can find no way to fix it in the documentation. Alright....a little background. I exported a *.x file with a texture from 3ds Max, and I got it imported and set up into my program...but when I run the program, the texture is all morphed and not straight as it should be. This same thing happens in 3ds max in the perspective viewport until you turn on a texture correction option. I was wondering if there was such a thing for Irrlicht...oh ya, here is the code that I'm using for the model:

Code: Select all

IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("crate.x");
IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* node = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode( mesh );
if (node)
{
  	node->setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING, false);
  	node->setFrameLoop(0, 1);	
}
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
thesmileman
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:20 am
Location: Lubbock, TX

Post by thesmileman »

convert the model back into an editable poly after appling the uvmapping or texture correction then reexport
azari
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by azari »

I tried that already after reading a tutorial, but the texture was still distorted...
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
thesmileman
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:20 am
Location: Lubbock, TX

Post by thesmileman »

hmm... then I am not sure what to tell you. I have always had no problems with textures loading, well at leat not after the model was loaded or the texture was loaded in some way.

Ohh I just thought of one problem I did have. Is you model more that one object in Max? I have had sooo many problems unless the model is only one item. What I have found is that you model needs to me one editiable poly not just grouped together.
azari
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by azari »

My models is a singular cube with a crate texture applied. All one peice...UVM map added then converted to editible poly.....
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
Post Reply