(fixed)avast says my program is a virus :S WTF???

Discussion about everything. New games, 3d math, development tips...
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

(fixed)avast says my program is a virus :S WTF???

Post by Lil Margin »

Avast Fixed it :D



Hey,
I wanted to try irrlicht 1.6 for a spin and was working my way off...and as i usally do i test my program every 10 seconds and this is my code
#include <irrlicht.h>


using namespace irr;


using namespace core;
using namespace scene;
using namespace video;
using namespace io;
using namespace gui;

#ifdef _IRR_WINDOWS_
#pragma comment(lib, "Irrlicht.lib")
#pragma comment(linker, "/subsystem:windows /ENTRY:mainCRTStartup")
#endif


int main(int argc, char** argv)
{

IrrlichtDevice *device =
createDevice( video::EDT_SOFTWARE, dimension2d<u32>(640, 480), 16,
false, false, false, 0);




IVideoDriver* driver = device->getVideoDriver();
ISceneManager* smgr = device->getSceneManager();
IGUIEnvironment* guienv = device->getGUIEnvironment();

IAnimatedMesh* sidmes = smgr->getMesh("../../media/sydney.md2");
IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* sidnode = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode( sidmes );

IAnimatedMesh* ninjmes = smgr->getMesh("../../media/ninja.b3d");
IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* ninjnode = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode( ninjmes );



if (sidnode)
{
sidnode->setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING, false);
sidnode->setFrameLoop(0, 310);
sidnode->setMaterialTexture( 0, driver->getTexture("../../media/sydney.bmp") );
}

if (ninjnode)
{
ninjnode->setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING, false);
ninjnode->setMaterialTexture( 0, driver->getTexture("../../media/lastfuckingtest.bmp") );
}

smgr->addCameraSceneNodeFPS();


while(device->run())
{

driver->beginScene(true, true, SColor(0,200,200,200));

smgr->drawAll();
guienv->drawAll();

driver->endScene();
}


device->drop();

return 0;
}
while linking avast goes "wooooooo wooooooo wooooo a virus has been detected"
and it sayed it was a Win32:Tibia-AD [Trj]
why does it do that :shock:
Last edited by Lil Margin on Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Alpha Omega
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by Alpha Omega »

Norton did that to me because i had a [] in the name. Maybe avast is just pro and sees that your subconsciously writing malicious software illusively disguised as Irrlicht code?? If that is the case one would have to justify the indefinite paradox of which is greater, the computer or the virus it created?
Josie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 4:08 am
Location: Griffin, Georgia, US
Contact:

Post by Josie »

You know, if it's your code you're compiling, and you're using libraries that you've built yourself (or you're sure came from a reliable source, like irrlicht's repo ), then you usually can just tell the av to shove it- Your exe is fine- You didn't write a virus in it, therefore it isn't one.
d3jake
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: United States of America

Post by d3jake »

The problem then lies later when the exe is distributed. Then that user may not know that it is not intended to be a virus.

I dunno what may be causing the detection...
The Open Descent Foundation is always looking for programmers! http://www.odf-online.org
"I'll find out if what I deleted was vital here shortly..." -d3jake
randomMesh
Posts: 1186
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:04 am

Post by randomMesh »

Lil Margin wrote:lastfuckingtest
If i was Avast, i would have complained too.
"Whoops..."
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

lmao i was really pissed at that time and i named the .bmp that XD
sRc
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:44 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Post by sRc »

I see you posted it on the Avast forum too, and they're fixing it. and you're not so little there as you are here :lol:

anyway, a lot of trojan detection works, because trojans can be packaged in so many different ways, by heuristics. it examines and if it sees something that seems to match something in the database, it will trigger, but that also means there can be a good amount of false positives as well. things written in Delphi specifically are notorious for triggering false positives, just because of the way the Delphi compiler works. you just need to provide them a sample to show there is no infection, and they can update and improve their heuristics detection appropriately
The Bard sRc

Blog | Twitter
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

I see you posted it on the Avast forum too, and they're fixing it. and you're not so little there as you are here Laughing
lmao, hahahahaha that one made my day :lol:
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

Zip the file up in a password protected archive, then send it to Avast and give them the password. Next time you get an antivirus update they will have fixed the definitions.
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

hmmm my avast updated and i went to try it out and i got thesame report...hmmm, i wait for another update then
sRc
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:44 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Post by sRc »

it might take a few days
The Bard sRc

Blog | Twitter
Josie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 4:08 am
Location: Griffin, Georgia, US
Contact:

Post by Josie »

Yeah. They generally tend to take their time, but false positives are important for them- it hurts their reputation more than missing some viruses.
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

this got solved, in the last update from today wich was on october 7 2009
Repgahroll
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:48 am

Post by Repgahroll »

BTW... from now on, will any similar code not be detected as virus? (for example, other similar irrlicht app)
Or that solution only works for your specific program?

BTW(2), i don't use antivirus under Windows and i never got any kind of virus :) not even a simple adware.
I just don't browse porn(under windows :lol: ), don't run binaries that i don't know, keep my system updated, and use a decent firewall (the windows (XP) built-in one sucks).

It's good to see you got your problem solved.
Sylence
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:01 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sylence »

Repgahroll wrote:BTW(2), i don't use antivirus under Windows and i never got any kind of virus :) not even a simple adware.
How can you say you haven't got any virus when you don't have a program that would tell you otherwise?
Software documentation is like sex. If it's good you want more. If it's bad it's better than nothing.
Post Reply