Importing Animations

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
Post Reply
ellemayo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:24 pm

Importing Animations

Post by ellemayo »

Hi,

I have been trying to get my animations from Maya into Irrlicht and I have read lots of material on the forums about it. I purchased Ultimate Unwrap 3D Pro and I am able to get my animations from Maya into Unwrap and from Unwrap to Irrlicht, but no matter what format I use a few vertices in every model do not animate. They animate properly in Maya and Unwrap and even after saving as either b3d or X they still animate properly in Unwrap but not in Irrlicht.

The entire model animates properly except for a few vertices which stay in the position that they are located at in the first frame. Has anyone else had similar problems to this? Is there some weighting issues or restrictions from Maya to Irrlicht?

Image

The eyes and teeth are not the problem, I remade them and they work fine now but the vertices are the real problem.
christianclavet
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Contact:

Post by christianclavet »

From the picture, its's a skinning problem. Check the skin enveloppe for thoses vertices. It's look like a sub-object is not skinned (look like round buttons streching out of the jacket)
ellemayo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:24 pm

Post by ellemayo »

After working with the people from Ultimate Unwrap, the problem seems to be from the materials imported from Maya. Having multiple materials assigned to the mesh seems to have caused the problem, it works fine with only one material covering the whole thing...
Bolt
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Bolt »

I reported this as a bug.

See here:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=36520

You can fix it by unwelding your faces at the material borders.
ellemayo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:24 pm

Post by ellemayo »

ah, that's a good solution, I just ended up UV Mapping my characters and texturing them that way... takes more time to lay it out but works fine as well

also if you want to add it to your bug report, it also happens with b3d files
Bolt
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Bolt »

Thanks, I see the the same bug with .B3D files too.

Somebody should add it to the bugtracker.
christianclavet
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Contact:

Post by christianclavet »

I'm using a single material but with multiple ID's in MAX, do you have access to a feature like this in Maya?
Bolt
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Bolt »

ellemayo wrote:ah, that's a good solution, I just ended up UV Mapping my characters and texturing them that way... takes more time to lay it out but works fine as well
The next updated version of UU3D will have a tool to unweld material borders. You can fix your entire model with a single click.
Exporting out to DirectX or B3D and into Irrlicht should be a breeze.
ellemayo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:24 pm

Post by ellemayo »

The update for Unwrap works well, but when I import from unwrap to irrlicht the materials don't show up. They are still there but for some reason Irrlicht does not display them... is there a specific setting I need to enable or is there a specific material that works better from Maya?
Bolt
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Bolt »

Works fine here. Animated directX file with unwelded material borders. 3 materials/3 textures.

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/8174/mat32.png
Image

Works fine here too:
http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/9317/mat31.png
Image
ellemayo
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:24 pm

Post by ellemayo »

I exported as a .x and it worked, but .b3d doesn't! Looks like Ill be using .x format...
3D Ace
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:47 am
Location: Swakopmund, Namibia
Contact:

Post by 3D Ace »

Can it be possible to import animations from a separate file than the 3D Model itself, something like that would be very usefull for my game.
Everything is possible, IF you know how.
Checkout my website for my upcoming game.(Currently on hold!)
http://www.projectbattle360.webege.com
Image
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Post by Lonesome Ducky »

Yep, I just asked this question sometime earlier. Let me give an example code, assume node1 and node2 are IAnimatedMeshSceneNodes and you are using the animation from node1 for node2.

Code: Select all

CSkinnedMesh* anim1 = (CSkinnedMesh*)node1->getMesh();
CSkinnedMesh* anim2 = (CSkinnedMesh*)node2->getMesh();
anim2->useAnimationFrom(anim1);
Not tested, so you might have to work around with it a bit.
3D Ace
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:47 am
Location: Swakopmund, Namibia
Contact:

Post by 3D Ace »

Thanks it works great!
Now i have my 3D Model in one file and all its animations in another. This also allows me to reuse animations on different Character models.
Everything is possible, IF you know how.
Checkout my website for my upcoming game.(Currently on hold!)
http://www.projectbattle360.webege.com
Image
Post Reply