How To Compile RakNet 2.44 with Irrlicht 1.1 Continued...

A forum to store posts deemed exceptionally wise and useful
Post Reply
Midnight
Posts: 1772
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: Wonderland

How To Compile RakNet 2.44 with Irrlicht 1.1 Continued...

Post by Midnight »

Hello Peoples,

How To Compile RakNet 2.44 with Irrlicht 1.1 Continued by the below tutorial from the Irrlicht home page using codeblocks IDE and VC toolkit 2003.

here is the tutorial
http://www.daveandrews.org/articles/irrlicht_raknet/

need to get codeblocks up and running?
use afecelis's tutorial it works with 1.1
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=8437

assuming you have codeblocks ready
take the raknet tutorial and follow it exactly then...

step 1. change RakNet dll's and Irrlicht dll's to current versions
step 2. in code blocks change the linker directorys in build options
step 3. in the tutorial it shows source... include all the ones it tells you too if any which should be the following...

bitstream.h
bitstream.cpp
NetworkTypes.h
PacketEnumerations.h
RakClientInterface.h
RakNetworkFactory.h
Export.h
PacketPriority.h
RakPeerInterface.h
RakNetStatistics.h

step 4. make sure you're using toolkit 2003 from afecelis's codeblocks tutorial and the code blocks project files are included with the tutorial when you download it. also the settings in build options are the main build mode not the default mode.

any questions? 8)
kamikaze942
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:11 pm

Post by kamikaze942 »

anything for the new versions?
Kamikaze
DtD
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:05 am
Location: Kansas
Contact:

Post by DtD »

This topic is REALLY old btw.

Setting up and using RakNet is not too terribly complex, just follow the tutorials there and apply it to scene nodes.
kamikaze942
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:11 pm

Post by kamikaze942 »

so....noob question for you. been going over the tutorials, managed to rewrite dave andrews old non-working code with a lil help. I'm not going to have two seperate programs for client and server. (I think i will have player2, the peer connected to host, have only functionality for a 2nd player that walks around. for now)

so for now, the main will load everything and when it hits the while loop, if i do any animations or movements, etc.., etc... i will have to send bitstreams to the client for each one? and same thing for the client?
Kamikaze
Post Reply