Blender 2.4 and DirectX8 mod1.3.1 exporter FIX

Discuss about anything related to the Irrlicht Engine, or read announcements about any significant features or usage changes.
Post Reply
Guest

Blender 2.4 and DirectX8 mod1.3.1 exporter FIX

Post by Guest »

hi!

the blender .x exporter that comes with irrlicht does not work in blender 2.4 anymore.

here is what to do to get it working again:

1. open up the DirectX8ExporterMod.py
2. go to line 221 and remove ", mod_meshtools"
3. go to line 1517 and change the following lines like this:

Code: Select all

sel_objs = Object.GetSelected()
if len(sel_objs):
	for obj in sel_objs:
		if obj.getType() == 'Mesh':
			if obj.getData().getMode() & NMesh.Modes['SUBSURF']:
				subsurf = True
			ok = True
			break
to

Code: Select all

#sel_objs = Object.GetSelected()
#if len(sel_objs):
#	for obj in sel_objs:
#		if obj.getType() == 'Mesh':
#			if obj.getData().getMode() & NMesh.Modes['SUBSURF']:
#				subsurf = True
#			ok = True
#			break

subsurf = False
ok = True
4. done! now it does not check this subsurf stuff anymore but i think its more important to get the exporter at least to work.

does work without errors for me, hope you like it.

ps: sorry if this was already known, but i think this was not posted before.

see you!
Guest

Post by Guest »

You could put that in "FAQs, Howtos, and tool lists"
Guest

Post by Guest »

yeah i first thought of putting in in Bugs but this is not directly irrlicht so i think it should be eiter here or in the FAQ howto blabla :)

ps:

well the x files get exported out of blender right, and loaded into meshviewer right and displayed right, but irrlicht loads my new palm tree (damn i hate modelling :D) still wrong, though.

if irrlicht refuses to load my ultra super hyper new palm i think i have to ... cry :shock:

see you!


edit: yeah palm works, i had to make the whole mesh as one object instead of many different ones. see you!

edit2: yeah i just have to show you my precious first plant model ever!! :D

Image
omaremad
Competition winner
Posts: 1027
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:30 pm
Location: Cairo,Egypt

Post by omaremad »

well that works if there are no armatures

if there are some it needs a major rwrite since whole fnctions disapeared from the armature module
Electron
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:05 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

Post by Electron »

supposedly Ben Omari, the original author, was fixing it, but I haven't heard any more about that from vermeer
You do a lot of programming? Really? I try to get some in, but the debugging keeps me pretty busy.

Crucible of Stars
omaremad_

Post by omaremad_ »

vermeer
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:22 pm
Contact:

Post by vermeer »

ehm...

No, that's dts Toque's format. Nothing to do with x format. Unless you refer the needed api docs, which I dunno if are there.

The fact is...

I've been betatesting privately with Ben, and...probably is already in the latest CVS versions.But dunno.

I have a working version, but cannot share it till released.

There's a problem on IK, as Blender yet does not output the IK, and while the exporter works perfect, the baking of ik and export, has its problems.

Trust me that without IK targets, and empties to leave feet glued to ground when necesary, is a royal pain, and an unaccurate way to animate.

But the good news is...Seems Blender team was gonna release some kind of module or sumthin' in code so that plugin programmers can take advanatge of it and export the IK info also, so as I understood it, no more need to bake, besides with new api, since not even baked anims with changing location of root, etc, are working(no use of ik targets, for me is no good )...well, how a rig is easily animated in Blender, is not exportable yet. So, Ben and me we're waiting for that be released. But as I haven't talked to him in like a week or more, it may have happened already.

I have no doubt that thing will happen and Ben then will be able to put that into his plugin (I allways speak as the artist (while technical one) which I am, I don't do or understand code.but i am valid for hard betatesting with loads of tools, formats, etc )

Once then, perhaps some of you may do some mod if needed for irrlicht loader, which we know does not take all x exports easily; I know maybe some small bits may have to be touched.

I cannot allow my self to pass nothing to anyone till is oficial: CVS Blender versions may already include it. Yet though, this weekend I'll write to him again to see how it goes now. :)

Ben is very good at what he does, so the plugin will come out :)

Jox is also great at it, I haven't heard of him for a while, though. I hope he's ok, as I don't get an answer...
Finally making games again!
http://www.konekogames.com
vermeer
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:22 pm
Contact:

Post by vermeer »

btw, I meant :

-Ik, and IK targets/solvers
-constraints
-root movement.

All that need to be supported.
Finally making games again!
http://www.konekogames.com
vermeer
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:22 pm
Contact:

Post by vermeer »

ok, seems he made an example public.

But that can be very old code.

I 'll try to speak with him this weekend.

But in the meantime, he made quite many days ago this version as a very early public beta. There are sure problems. besides which I mentioned of the possible way of he included some version at cvs...but..who knows. I dunno, really, haven't downloaded a Blender test build lately.

http://xoomer.virgilio.it/glabro1/EXAMPLE_2.zip

(I donwloaded now, but surely mine is a bit more recent..)

Go grab it those curious. he made that one piblicly available to all, so...

But no ik or constraints there, so neither the export of those important features. yet possibly usable for some already..
Finally making games again!
http://www.konekogames.com
Guest

Post by Guest »

ok, should i rename the thread to "fix for non-animated x.files" instead? :)
vermeer
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:22 pm
Contact:

Post by vermeer »

You don't need. I strongly suspected it wasn't about armatures since the beguining ;)
Finally making games again!
http://www.konekogames.com
omaremad_

Post by omaremad_ »

0_0

it is the armatures the (armature.getbone) function is not there any more however it has been moved to the bone module (bone.getbone) as seen in the doc i posted(same pricipals that are crashing in both format converters)
Scarabol
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post by Scarabol »

How can i fix this armature bug?

MfG
Scarabol
Irrlicht 1.7.2
Eclipse
Boost
Post Reply