What are the plans for Irrlicht 1.8 and further?

Discuss about anything related to the Irrlicht Engine, or read announcements about any significant features or usage changes.
Post Reply
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yeah, it's still on my TODO list. Not sure if they make it into 1.8 or 1.9, though. It's not much code, but requires certain adaptions to the basic texture handling.
Maybe someone can have a look at the projection bug in the stencil shadow patch (->patch tracker), once this is fixed I can start with cube maps.
PI
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by PI »

I'm sure the bug is simple and obvious! I'm telling this because the most annoying bugs in my stuff were always small ones... That's why they were hard to find. :)

Edit:
Anyway, dev guys, take your time! You're doing a wonderful job with this engine, which is already capable to do anything what people want. If something cannot be done with it, there are always solutions: use a workaround or downscale. I personally like a new feature much more when it works out-of-the-box rather than in the next next next patch. :)
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

I would take a look to the stencil shadows because now appear small silouettes out of nowhere, when it is applied. It didn't happen before.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yeah, all that's already solved in the patch found on the tracker. There's now only the problem that the shadows move wrongly when the camera moves.
stefbuet
Competition winner
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: france

Post by stefbuet »

Could you add an int "MaterialTypeParam3" in SMaterial so as to be able to send multiple boolean with binary operator to the Material ? Because we can't with a float. I need boolean for exemple to know if I have to draw the mesh with normal mapping or not, metal specular model or not, use specular map or not.... That would be really usefull. Thx
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Just use the two exisiting params as 32 booleans stored as binaries.
slavik262
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by slavik262 »

Using memcpy and bit masking to shove integer or boolean data into floats isn't all that elegant. A third MaterialTypeParam would be nice. Granted, it's really easy to add in yourself, but it would be nice to have official support.

On the note of shaders and integer/boolean values, could the SetPixelShaderConstant/SetVertexShaderConstant functions be overloaded to also accept integer and boolean values?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yeah, I already did such an extension once. Guess I have to find the machine where I did that...
Anyway, having an additional member in SMaterial is quite expensive. You can have hundreds of SMaterial members per scene node. We won't add arbitrary new members just because it's inelegant to access bits of a member somewhere.
slavik262
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by slavik262 »

It's just an int, but like I said, easy to add in yourself.

What about the shader constant set functions supporting integer or boolean types without casting?
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Well if we added a material type param 3, then we might as well add number 4 too. What if we replaced the material type param, with a core::array of s32's? And the materialTypeParam1 and materialTypeParam2
could be kept as members, but they would be references to the first two indexes of the materialTypeParams array?
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
slavik262
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by slavik262 »

Like Hybrid said though, increasing the number of params would incur some memory overhead since each mesh can have many SMaterials. I just think the addition of one for boolean and integer data would be useful.
ent1ty
Competition winner
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:09 am

Post by ent1ty »

Uhh.. maybe the IParticleSystemSceneNode could get a clone method?
Right now it doesn't have it, and frankly, it's rather disgusting :P
irrRenderer 1.0
Height2Normal v. 2.1 - convert height maps to normal maps

Step back! I have a void pointer, and I'm not afraid to use it!
ent1ty
Competition winner
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:09 am

Post by ent1ty »

@devs... You don't even care, do you.
irrRenderer 1.0
Height2Normal v. 2.1 - convert height maps to normal maps

Step back! I have a void pointer, and I'm not afraid to use it!
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I'm sure the devs care. But they're probably busy with more important things right now. Besides if you want really good particles, you should really look into SPARK.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
ent1ty
Competition winner
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:09 am

Post by ent1ty »

I know, it's just.. They could at least drop by and say something like 'We know about it, we will fix it in the future.'.
irrRenderer 1.0
Height2Normal v. 2.1 - convert height maps to normal maps

Step back! I have a void pointer, and I'm not afraid to use it!
Post Reply