Problems with .3ds
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:31 am
Problems with .3ds
I've been trying to use a .3ds map replacing the .bsp (Q3) map on the second example "Quake3Map".
The function getMesh from ISceneManager is supposed to support this format, isn't it?
Problem is, for some reason, the compilation crashes. If you put a Q3 map, it runs ok. If you put some invalid file (I've tried running .max and .wrl files) it just gives an error message saying it won't support.
Any ideas? I tryed using addOctTreeSceneNode and addAnimatedMeshSceneNode... no matter how much I wait, the rendering seems to crash.
Running WinXP, tried DevCpp and VisualC++, and OpenGl. DirectX9 doesn't work don't know why.
If it's some bug on Irrlicht, anyone knows of any conversor from .3ds files to Q3 map?
The function getMesh from ISceneManager is supposed to support this format, isn't it?
Problem is, for some reason, the compilation crashes. If you put a Q3 map, it runs ok. If you put some invalid file (I've tried running .max and .wrl files) it just gives an error message saying it won't support.
Any ideas? I tryed using addOctTreeSceneNode and addAnimatedMeshSceneNode... no matter how much I wait, the rendering seems to crash.
Running WinXP, tried DevCpp and VisualC++, and OpenGl. DirectX9 doesn't work don't know why.
If it's some bug on Irrlicht, anyone knows of any conversor from .3ds files to Q3 map?
Irrlicht support 3ds meshes. Not *.max, but *.3ds files.
If you want exporting q3 bsp files from max, you must at beginning to find max2q3 /max to quake 3 map file/ exporter plugin and then to compile your map with bsp compiler.
Another possibility is exporting from max your scene like *.x animated mesh.
If you want exporting q3 bsp files from max, you must at beginning to find max2q3 /max to quake 3 map file/ exporter plugin and then to compile your map with bsp compiler.
Another possibility is exporting from max your scene like *.x animated mesh.
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:31 am
Exactly! I tried a .3ds file, but the render crashes. I used .max just as an example of what happens when you try to use a non-supported file with the getMesh function.
But I'll try to convert the file to .bsp or a Q3-compatible map then... any clue where I can find this plug-in?
I'll be searching in google now...
Thanks for the tip!
But I'll try to convert the file to .bsp or a Q3-compatible map then... any clue where I can find this plug-in?
I'll be searching in google now...
Thanks for the tip!
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:31 am
It crashes when trying to load the mesh.
Here exactly:
Here exactly:
Code: Select all
scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("teste.3ds");
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:31 am
Yeah, pretty shure of it. I think if the function doesn't find the file it generates some kinda error and shuts down the program... but in my case, the compilation is crashing... it just keeps in a loading state for hours.
I tried 2 different .3ds files up 'till now... but they were made by the same person. Still, I can open the files on 3DStudio normally.
I'll run some more tests... try to find some .3ds map other than mine... and I also found some converters from .3ds to .bsp file... so I'll test those too.
Thanks for the help so far, I'll keep reporting what happened here..
I tried 2 different .3ds files up 'till now... but they were made by the same person. Still, I can open the files on 3DStudio normally.
I'll run some more tests... try to find some .3ds map other than mine... and I also found some converters from .3ds to .bsp file... so I'll test those too.
Thanks for the help so far, I'll keep reporting what happened here..
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:31 am
No use... tried building from different locations, with different project files and rebuilded it several times...
Maybe I'm pointing to some out-of-the-map space.... but I'm not shure if this would make the code crash, since it is a walk-free example... no collision detection stuff involved, I mean.
Maybe I'm pointing to some out-of-the-map space.... but I'm not shure if this would make the code crash, since it is a walk-free example... no collision detection stuff involved, I mean.
I have the same problem. I cannot load my .3ds file, because the application crashes. The room.3ds from the 0.7 version of IRRLICHT is ok, so far. (The textures are missing, but that is an other story. Somewhere I read that the textures should be next to the .3ds file, and they will be loaded automatically. Hmmm.)
So, I think maybe the 3dsMax 6 is the cause of the problem. Is it possible, that the .3ds format is somehow different in 3dsMax 6? Although, I assume, that it hadn’t changed since 1998.
So, I think maybe the 3dsMax 6 is the cause of the problem. Is it possible, that the .3ds format is somehow different in 3dsMax 6? Although, I assume, that it hadn’t changed since 1998.
So, the problem is solved. I have tried everything. The error factor was the dimensions of the material. It seems that the material should be like 128x128, or 256x256, (powers of 8 ) but not weird as 378x256, or others like this.
I am a bit sad about all this. I was hoping that exporting my .max files to .3ds will be a piece of cake, but now I see, that much attention is required to do that.
And the .3ds loader class should be more informative. I haven’t seen an error log entry.
I am a bit sad about all this. I was hoping that exporting my .max files to .3ds will be a piece of cake, but now I see, that much attention is required to do that.
And the .3ds loader class should be more informative. I haven’t seen an error log entry.
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:31 am