Is it possible to use SDL or Allegro to preform 2D image manipulation of the 'Screen'/window? I also want to be able do image manipulation on textures too. Is this possible, and if so how?
Thanks.
Post-Render Image Manipulation (SDL?)
Re: Post-Render Image Manipulation (SDL?)
are you using irrlicht?
Junior Irrlicht Developer.
Real value in social networks is not about "increasing" number of followers, but about getting in touch with Amazing people.
- by Me
Real value in social networks is not about "increasing" number of followers, but about getting in touch with Amazing people.
- by Me
-
- Admin
- Posts: 14143
- Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
- Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
- Contact:
Re: Post-Render Image Manipulation (SDL?)
You need to transfer the framebuffer/texture to the CPU, manipulate, and re-upload. So it's usually better to use a shader for post-processing. But else you can of course use any software to manipulate the screen this way.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:27 am
Re: Post-Render Image Manipulation (SDL?)
YesREDDemon wrote:are you using irrlicht?
How would you recommend one does the framebuffer thing? I didn't see any tutorial for this. I've already read the one that explains rendering images, which is how I am guessing the manipulated image gets rendered/reuploaded. I need to be able to do pixel (2D array) type image modification every frame.hybrid wrote:You need to transfer the framebuffer/texture to the CPU, manipulate, and re-upload. So it's usually better to use a shader for post-processing. But else you can of course use any software to manipulate the screen this way.
Thanks again.
-
- Admin
- Posts: 14143
- Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
- Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
- Contact:
Re: Post-Render Image Manipulation (SDL?)
In general, render target textures have the best performance for this. So have a look at example 13. Once the texture is updated, you can render it to a large quad of the desired size.