Texture on sphere.. flickering??

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
yeti
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:20 pm

Texture on sphere.. flickering??

Post by yeti »

When moving around the sphere with earth texture, some strange flickering occurs which changes its positions when i move... I just have no clue what i am doing wrong or how to fix it. Can someone please help me out?

Image
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Texture on sphere.. flickering??

Post by CuteAlien »

Which driver are you using? It could be normals. Or it could be z-buffer fighting. Hard to tell when all the info we have is a single screenshot and no code or models.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
yeti
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:20 pm

Re: Texture on sphere.. flickering??

Post by yeti »

Oh, sorry, i didnt attach the code as my use is really basic, this is actually it. For camera movement i am using addCameraSceneNodeFPS and this is it... with DirectX 9. No magic :(

Code: Select all

 
    scene::ISceneNode *node = SceneManager->addSphereSceneNode( Setup::instance().getWorldSphereRadius(), Setup::instance().getWorldSpherePolys(), SceneManager->getRootSceneNode() );
    node->setPosition(core::vector3df(0,0,0));
    node->setMaterialTexture(0, Driver->getTexture("topo.jpg"));
    node->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_LIGHTING, true);
 
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Texture on sphere.. flickering??

Post by CuteAlien »

That's rather strange. Before I starting trying to reproduce this - can you please check if your graphic drivers are up-to-date? And is this Irrlicht 1.8? And to get as close as possible to your situation - can you give me the exact radius and polygon-numbers you are using? And I guess you use a light (would be black otherwise) - so any values for that as well. And maybe compiler and which Windows you are on.

Anything else you can think of that's special is also helpful. We can only help if we have all information necessary to reproduce the bug.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Post Reply