Irrlicht for PS2??

Discussion about everything. New games, 3d math, development tips...
Post Reply
TeTo

Irrlicht for PS2??

Post by TeTo »

irrlicht is c++ and the 95 % is independent of the platform.

The SSOO of the ps2 is linux, i think.

Anyone have do any version of irrlicht for ps2?? or have anyone think in it??

Will it do very difficult ?

Can i programmer with irrlicht with the version ps2-linux of ps2??

any tutorial or how to ?

thanks
Saku
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:48 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Saku »

Try searching the forum! This has already been discussed in a number of posts i think.
Call me Wice, Miami Wice!
TeTo

Post by TeTo »

of course, that i did it, yet.

What can you tell me about my question??
Saku
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:48 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Saku »

Im sorry but i really can't tell you anything about your question since I'm very new to C++ and know nothing about PS2 programming, thats why i suggested looking in the other posts about Irrlicht/PS2...
Call me Wice, Miami Wice!
CHB2
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:34 am

Post by CHB2 »

even if it would be possible, sony and nintendo and so on demand for high prices to have a licence to do so.
MFG


CHB2
djceejay
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:42 am

Post by djceejay »

I got the engine to compile but couldn't get any decent output.
I got stuck on the drawIndexedTriangleList().
The graphics of the PS2 cannot draw indexed data, it needs to be unpacked into seperate polys.
To draw a 2d quad using the PS2 library goes something like this (I think):

Code: Select all

        SPS2Manager.Initialise(4096);	// 4096 * 4K Pages = 16MB Total

	VIFStaticDMA.Initialise(1536);	// 1536 * 4K Pages = 6MB Static DMA
	VIFDynamicDMA.Initialise(256);	// 256 * 4K Pages * 2 Buffers =
									// 2MB Dynamic DMA

	// Register our signal function for every possible signal (i.e. ctrl + c)
	for(int sig=0; sig<128; sig++)
		signal(sig, sig_handle);
		
	// Set up the DMA packet to clear the screen.
	SPS2Manager.InitScreenClear(0x20, 0, 0x20);	
		
	// Load texture.
	CTexture Tex1;
	Tex1.LoadBitmap("max8bit256.bmp");

	while(g_bLoop)
	{
		// Fire off the previous frame's buffer (or init data if it's the first time)
		VIFDynamicDMA.Fire();

		pad_update(PAD_0);

		// Clear the screen
		SPS2Manager.BeginScene();
		
		// Upload the current texture to the free texture buffer
		Tex1.Upload(480);
		Tex1.Select();
		
		// Start DIRECT mode transfer
		VIFDynamicDMA.StartDirect();
		
		// Add the GIFTag
		VIFDynamicDMA.Add128(GS_GIFTAG_BATCH(	1,							// NLOOP
	 											1,							// EOP
	 											1,							// PRE
	 											GS_PRIM(PRIM_SPRITE, 		//PRIM
														PRIM_IIP_FLAT, 
														PRIM_TME_ON,
														PRIM_FGE_OFF, 
														PRIM_ABE_ON, 
														PRIM_AA1_OFF, 
														PRIM_FST_UV, 
														PRIM_CTXT_CONTEXT1, 
														PRIM_FIX_NOFIXDDA),					
	 											GIF_FLG_PACKED,				//FLG
	 											GS_BATCH_5(	GIF_REG_RGBAQ, 	//BATCH
	 														GIF_REG_UV, 
	 														GIF_REG_XYZ2, 
	 														GIF_REG_UV, 
	 														GIF_REG_XYZ2)));					
			 
 
		// Add Vertex data
		
		// Add the colour
    	VIFDynamicDMA.Add128(PACKED_RGBA(0x80, 0x80, 0x80, 0x80));
    	
    	// Add UV texture coordinates
    	VIFDynamicDMA.Add128(PACKED_UV(0<<4, 0<<4));
    	    	
    	// Add the position   	   	
    	VIFDynamicDMA.Add128(PACKED_XYZ2(	(2048 - 128)<< 4, 
    										(2048 - 128)<< 4, 
    										128, 
    										0));
    	
    	// Add UV texture coordinates									
    	VIFDynamicDMA.Add128(PACKED_UV((255<<4), (255<<4)));
    	    	
    	// Add the position   	   	
    	VIFDynamicDMA.Add128(PACKED_XYZ2(	(2048 + 128)<< 4, 
    										(2048 + 128)<< 4, 
    										128, 
    										0));
	    	  	
		
		// End the direct mode
		VIFDynamicDMA.EndDirect();
	
		// Swap the buffers
		SPS2Manager.EndScene();
		
	}
Scary huh?
djceejay
Studying :: BSc Computer Games Technology :: UK
Fraza
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:28 am
Location: Leeds

Post by Fraza »

Not to mention the amount of CD burning or whatever you have to do to feed it into the PS2 for testing... that'd be a real pain.
Joe_Oliveri
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 3:24 am
Location: Boston, MA

Post by Joe_Oliveri »

thats the life of a developer!
Irrlicht Moderator || Game Designer
Learn the basics at </dream.in.code>
djceejay
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:42 am

Post by djceejay »

The PS2 linux kit comes with a hard drive and network adapter. It is treated just like a linux box.
Have a look at http://playstation2-linux.com if you're interested.
djceejay
Studying :: BSc Computer Games Technology :: UK
FlyHigh
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:05 am

Post by FlyHigh »

Fraza wrote:Not to mention the amount of CD burning or whatever you have to do to feed it into the PS2 for testing... that'd be a real pain.
But, if like djceejay (or anybody else) writes a renderer then you would only have to test it on actual hardware once in a while, because if the renderer works than it'll look the same as a PC running OGL or DX.
Post Reply