Setting a parent scene node 0.9 & crash on scene manager

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
cartoonit
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 6:36 pm

Setting a parent scene node 0.9 & crash on scene manager

Post by cartoonit »

I've just ported to 0.9 and included some of my updates, I haven't changed any of my code within my application, but whenever I try to show my weapon the application crashes on the scene manager. The weapon scene node is definately loaded, I don't really understand why it would crash now??? I'm just setting the weapon scene node to be the child of the camera fps node...
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Difficult to say. Could you debug it and tell us exactly where it crashes?
cartoonit
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 6:36 pm

Post by cartoonit »

I've just changed back to 0.8, gotta hand this in soon, so I'll try again with 0.9 after its been given in.

Its saying that it can't read memory address 0x000005, as far as I can remember on the mp_Smgr->drawAll();... I set the child of the fps camera to be the weapon, and then set it visible and crash... I'll have a further look if I get some time soon, but I don't really use any of the new 0.9 features yet... :roll:
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

I changed some things with parent handling in 0.9. Ususally this should prevent some crashes. Are you sure you didn't delete the parent of the child scene node or something? Because it looks like it tries to get something (I guess the absolute position) from its parent, but hasn't any access to it anymore.
But I'm checking out if I made an error somewhere.
keless
Posts: 805
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA

Post by keless »

It sounds like a bug I fixed recently where I was calling 'drop' on GUI objects (rather than 'remove') --- after which, a call to m_env->draw would crash the app.

I second Niko's suggestion that maybe you're deleting a scene node rather than properly removing it from the scene graph.
a screen cap is worth 0x100000 DWORDS
Post Reply