Working on a 3d Modeller in irrlicht
Working on a 3d Modeller in irrlicht
Here are a couple shots (just 5 minutes of messing around):
It works similar to Z-Brush, allowing you to deform a high polygon mesh using simple tools (like working with clay). The goal is to allow you to create a low polygon model from the high polygon model and automatically generate the bump (or paralax map, whatever) for you.
Saving and loading are already working in my own format. I hope to make it so it can load any of the formats that irrlicht can already load. I don't think I will have time to make it fully featured (with animation, etc), but it would be cool if you could at least use it to generate some nice models that you can import into other programs to do that.
It works similar to Z-Brush, allowing you to deform a high polygon mesh using simple tools (like working with clay). The goal is to allow you to create a low polygon model from the high polygon model and automatically generate the bump (or paralax map, whatever) for you.
Saving and loading are already working in my own format. I hope to make it so it can load any of the formats that irrlicht can already load. I don't think I will have time to make it fully featured (with animation, etc), but it would be cool if you could at least use it to generate some nice models that you can import into other programs to do that.
-
- Posts: 322
- Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:34 am
- Location: slovakia
wow...I'd test it...
but...you need at least OBJ loading...
but...you need at least OBJ loading...
Finally making games again!
http://www.konekogames.com
http://www.konekogames.com
-
- Posts: 313
- Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:01 am
Very nice. Similar in fashion to what I am using Irrlicht for - although my editing functions are in a completely different vein (texture conversions and mesh fitting, rather than ZBrush-like features!)
Thinking of releasing any code or just the EXE?
And OBJ import/export would be a must I reckon...
--EK
Thinking of releasing any code or just the EXE?
And OBJ import/export would be a must I reckon...
--EK
Thanks guys,
I may release the source code, we'll see. Currently it requires some modifications to the base irrlicht code to support more than 65536 triangles and also allow per vertex colorings in OpenGL. I'll post a version for testing once I add some more features. It needs a few more things before it's really usable.
I may release the source code, we'll see. Currently it requires some modifications to the base irrlicht code to support more than 65536 triangles and also allow per vertex colorings in OpenGL. I'll post a version for testing once I add some more features. It needs a few more things before it's really usable.
looking great, man!
keep at it
I'll be glad to test when loading and saving objs is done
How performance goes with it ? I'm a zbrush registered user, also amorphium, and know the problem tends to be perfornance. Selective subdivision, or similar solution,is a clever thing to do.
keep at it
I'll be glad to test when loading and saving objs is done
How performance goes with it ? I'm a zbrush registered user, also amorphium, and know the problem tends to be perfornance. Selective subdivision, or similar solution,is a clever thing to do.
Finally making games again!
http://www.konekogames.com
http://www.konekogames.com
Once I get undo and loading/saving other formats done I'll probably release a beta for testing. I'm working on undo now. Loading shouldn't be too difficult - I just need to take models that irrlicht can already load and convert them to my mesh type. Saving will be more difficult.
Performance is pretty good so far. It helps to have a good video card and PC. Some operations will need optimizing but for the most part I have tried to keep it fast and only upate what needs to be updated and not more. I've been testing on meshes that have 65000-100,000 triangles. I'm sure I will need to do some more work to optimize things when using very large meshes (1-2 million polys). Maybe you'll have to hide parts that you aren't working on. Selective subdivision should help a bit because then the artist can choose where more detail is needed.
Performance is pretty good so far. It helps to have a good video card and PC. Some operations will need optimizing but for the most part I have tried to keep it fast and only upate what needs to be updated and not more. I've been testing on meshes that have 65000-100,000 triangles. I'm sure I will need to do some more work to optimize things when using very large meshes (1-2 million polys). Maybe you'll have to hide parts that you aren't working on. Selective subdivision should help a bit because then the artist can choose where more detail is needed.
I see this is an irrlicht app, are there any other .dlls you use? Keep it that way,,, it will be possible to load every thing irrlicht can load right?
cool, I have seen buttons for punch, brush... and Map.. what I am looking for at most about it is mapping. There is always a mess with loading a normal map layer properly on the color layer , with the coordinates you prefer....(charakter for example),. If you model and map both texture layers, you can in rrlicht create a normal map from the 2nd layer, yes, but it will be ugly, the filtered normal map can be renderend easily, it can be done by a shader,....ok but what about exported highpoly maps? .... if you map them on an animated mesh.... how? it will be just a picture you need to fit with lowpoly? with a little transparency, this tool will be the solution...
cool, I have seen buttons for punch, brush... and Map.. what I am looking for at most about it is mapping. There is always a mess with loading a normal map layer properly on the color layer , with the coordinates you prefer....(charakter for example),. If you model and map both texture layers, you can in rrlicht create a normal map from the 2nd layer, yes, but it will be ugly, the filtered normal map can be renderend easily, it can be done by a shader,....ok but what about exported highpoly maps? .... if you map them on an animated mesh.... how? it will be just a picture you need to fit with lowpoly? with a little transparency, this tool will be the solution...
-
- Posts: 322
- Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:34 am
- Location: slovakia