Overlay surfaces

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
IPv6
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:58 am

Overlay surfaces

Post by IPv6 »

Hello!

Is it possible to create overlay surface and draw 3D on it using irrlicht?
Under overlay surface i mean surface that draws its content over any pixel with given color on the screen, the same as used by video players with hardware acceleration enabled.
I know how to create it in DirectDraw in DX7, but is it possible to be used in Irrlicht?

P.S. sorry for bad English :oops:
Saku
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 8:48 am
Location: Denmark

Post by Saku »

If you mean like 'render-to-texture' that is definitly posible, and in case you mean like multiple viewports that is definitly posible too - check the tutorial on the main page.
Call me Wice, Miami Wice!
IPv6
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:58 am

Post by IPv6 »

no, i mean texture that is visible over pixels with specific color only, like video players does. i mean try to pres print screen when media player is playing video. you will get screenshot with black rectangle in the place of video! overlay sufrace is visible only over pixels of that black color. i`m sure it can be done via DX (and i know how it can be done in DX7) but i don`t know how to draw 3d scene in it (this is what i want in the end).

Is it possile (may be with changing Irrlicht sources, that is ok, i`m not a newby in programming)

i already read tutorial with render-in-texture. the problem is that texture is normal, it hasn`t "overlay" aspect that i need. if normal texture can be converted in "overlay" mode this would be ok too!
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

no, overlays are not supported directly through irrlicht, but you will be able to use a mix of d3d and irrlicht code together if you're using the d3d driver, as you can grab the d3d surface from an irrlicht texture.
it would make a cool snippet/demo, so if you work it out please share :)
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
IPv6
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:58 am

Thanks!

Post by IPv6 »

Thanks for reply!

But it requires some specific options set when surface is created. Is it possible to specify options for new surfaces without hacking the sources? i didn`t see the way to do this :(
i`ll share the result if it will be ready at last :)
Post Reply