Page 2 of 3

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:51 pm
by Anteater
Okay, I got it working!

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:18 am
by Anteater
I just uploaded an alpha tech demo of the game. No source included yet, because it's poorly commented at the moment and it's not very useful because the game is still very incomplete. However, this demo does show what direction the game is heading in. You will notice that I haven't added weapon models yet. Also, the load game feature doesn't work yet. However, some things are fully implemented, such as the useable item inventory (press the corresponding keypad button that shares the relative position of the item on the grid shown to use an item you've collected. I know that doesn't make much sense, but you'll see when the game is run what I'm talking about), weapons and magic (for the time being, there is a treasure chest in the very first room that contains a dagger, walk up to it and press L to obtain it, then press 1 to equip it), and basic enemy support. Because the game was also designed to be a framework, many things were not hardcoded. These are things like frame lists for enemy models, level settings, list of enemy or item locations, etc. These are changed via simple control scripts. They are very basic and not in Python or XML or anything like that; they are just simple text files.

This version is now obsolete-- See below.

PS: Thanks to Psionic for that awesome beast model! Also, I got that music from
http://incompetech.com/m/c/royalty-free/orchestra.html. It's under the CCA (included with the demo in the data folder). I created the HUD graphics with GIMP. SFX were taken from various public-domain sources. And of course, thanks goes to the Irrlicht Team for the Irrlicht 3D Engine and IrrKlang.

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:43 am
by Phant0m51
Your new demo crashes on me. It says it can't create a D3D9 device and errors out.

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:28 am
by Anteater
That's odd. The only thing I can think of is that the current minimum resolution is rather high (1280x1024) and not all monitors support it.

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:42 pm
by genesisrage
what are you using to control the camera?
i noticed when looking straight up and down, when you hit forward you actually move forward. did you change the fpscamera code somehow, or using your own movement commands?

also, for my computer it is REALLY dark.

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:02 pm
by Anteater
Thanks for the input. I'll brighten it up. As for the camera question, I'm just using the basic smgr->addCameraSceneNodeFPS() function, with the noZMovement variable set to true. The exact code I used was:

Code: Select all

pc.mcam = smgr->addCameraSceneNodeFPS(NULL, 100, 500, -1, 0, 0, true, 0.75);

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:24 pm
by Phant0m51
I'm on a laptop, so it probably is the screen resolution that's causing problems. You should probably set it to try several resolutions, like your standard, then another one smaller just incase the device isn't created.

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 7:06 pm
by Anteater
@Phant0m51: Yeah I was going to do that.

Hey, I was thinking this: On top of making the game a little brighter, allow the player to carry a torch to brighten up the game a bit. How's that sound?

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 2:22 pm
by Anteater
Okay, alpha version 0.0.1.2 is out! This version has a better looking interface, multible enemy types (3 are possible but at the moment only two are implemented), multible levels (only two right now; more to come), very basic saving and loading (it saves the level your at, that's it), 1024x768 support (untested, should make the game 'runnable' although stuff will be cropped off at the edges), magic works correctly now, source is included, fonts are changed (they can actually be read lol), better documentation (still very incomplete though), more "soft coded" stuff (makes for easier modding), and some other neat stuff. One problem this version does have is its terrible clipping issues; you're likely to see enemies going partially into walls, etc.
This version is now obsolete, see below.

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:50 pm
by Anteater
I just released the first beta version of Dauntless Rogue. The game is now winnable (although it's very short), and there are some small enhancements here or there.

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:55 pm
by monkeycracks
Crashed after I entered in name and clicked Start. (Or whatever button that was).

Also I noticed that your points can go below zero and into the negatives, might want to restrict that.

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:11 pm
by Anteater
Crashed after I entered in name and clicked Start. (Or whatever button that was).
That's odd, it works fine for me. I'll see if I can figure out what I did wrong.

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 10:01 pm
by monkeycracks
Windows XP Home
My other specs are in my sig.

In case it matters.

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:43 pm
by Anteater
This may seem like an odd question but what is the maximum screen resolution your video card/monitor are capable of?

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:00 am
by monkeycracks
1024x768