Page 2 of 6

Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 8:15 pm
by 32_weaselType
lol

well, I think I'm going to go in another direction than the middle-east setting.

Ill keep you guys posted

Posted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:45 am
by c_olin3404
I am s32_weaselType. I realized why I couldn't sign up.... I already was regestered ;)

Posted: Fri May 14, 2004 7:01 pm
by qwe
those screenshots look great! :)

Posted: Fri May 14, 2004 9:39 pm
by c_olin3404
Image

Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 2:17 pm
by afecelis
great work, kudos!

where can I get the modified line to get Irrlicht to work with 32bit textures?

Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 6:40 pm
by c_olin3404
go to CDirectX8Texture.cpp

go the line with:
video::ITexture* CVideoDirectX9::createDeviceDependentTexture(IImage* surface)
and under:
bool generateMipLevels = getTextureCreationFlag(ETCF_CREATE_MIP_MAPS);
put:
setTextureCreationFlag(ETCF_ALWAYS_32_BIT, true);

compile and smile :)

Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 6:54 pm
by afecelis
thnx c_olin for replying!

I found CDirectX8Texture.cpp but I couldn't find the lines you tell me. I'm using version 6.0 of Irrlicht.

Are you using the same version, or is there a newer one? (or are you working with version 5 or a mod version of Irrlicht?)

sorry to be a pain, but thanx for helping.

cheers!

Posted: Sun May 16, 2004 10:00 pm
by Guest
One question.

Why newton instead ode?

Looks nice the screenshots, congratulations

Posted: Sun May 16, 2004 10:06 pm
by Lord_ZealoN
I'm the guest

Posted: Mon May 17, 2004 7:13 pm
by c_olin3404
afecelis wrote:thnx c_olin for replying!

I found CDirectX8Texture.cpp but I couldn't find the lines you tell me. I'm using version 6.0 of Irrlicht.

Are you using the same version, or is there a newer one? (or are you working with version 5 or a mod version of Irrlicht?)

sorry to be a pain, but thanx for helping.

cheers!
Sorry if it sounds like I don't want to help you... but use the search button, it's the best way to find information on the board!

I did a bit of research on ode and Newton, and Newton seemed like it suited me better.

cool

Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 1:21 am
by dartsman
Hey,

I was wondering if you are going to put the source code up, with all the files to compile too. It would be cool cause I'd love to make a fps, but I don't know how to use irrlicht to place the weapon in the right place, also finding the right models is hard too.

Code: Select all

scene::ICameraSceneNode* camera = sm->getActiveCamera();
scene::IAnimatedMesh* weaponMesh = sm->getMesh("data/weapon.md2");
scene::IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* weaponNode = sm->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode( weaponMesh, camera, -1 );
weaponNode->setAnimationSpeed(30);

weaponNode->setScale(core::vector3df(4,4,4));
weaponNode->setPosition(core::vector3df(0,-60,0));
weaponNode->setRotation(core::vector3df(0,-90,0));
weaponNode->setFrameLoop(250, 280);
weaponNode->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_LIGHTING, false);
weaponNode->setMaterialTexture(0, driver->getTexture("data/weapon.bmp"));
weaponNode->setMaterialType(video::EMT_SOLID_2_LAYER);
weaponNode->setAutomaticCulling(true);
I got that code from another post in the forum.

Also what file type are you using for the 'world/map'? .3ds, .pk3, .bsp. If your using .3ds how do u get the collision detection done on the .3ds world?

Like I said before it would be really cool if you could release your project, there really isn't much around about FPS with Irrlicht.

Thanks

dartsman

Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 2:18 am
by Phreak
Firstly, you would want to set the weapon model as a child of the camera.

Code: Select all

camera->addChild(weaponNode);
Secondly, where the position of the weapon is depends on where the modeller of the weapon created the model. If you know about modelling, you know that they can be made at any position on the 3 planes.

"Its just a bit of trial and error" where the weapon is. Change the values until you are satisfied.

Phreak

Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 4:18 am
by dartsman
Hey,

I'm guessing that you have the gun firing consistantly when you hold down the Left Mouse Button. I was wondering how do get it to do that??

Like the Code that I have for my shooting is:

Code: Select all

else if( event.MouseInput.Event == EMIE_LMOUSE_PRESSED_DOWN )
{
	Player.Shoot();
}
It only allows the player to shoot one shot, while holding down the Button.

Thanks

dartsman

Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 4:25 am
by dartsman
Hey,

Just thought that I may as well register

Cya

Oh, and c_olin3404 do u have a website up for the game?

Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:17 am
by c_olin3404
dartsman wrote:Hey,

I'm guessing that you have the gun firing consistantly when you hold down the Left Mouse Button. I was wondering how do get it to do that??

Like the Code that I have for my shooting is:

Code: Select all

else if( event.MouseInput.Event == EMIE_LMOUSE_PRESSED_DOWN )
{
	Player.Shoot();
}
It only allows the player to shoot one shot, while holding down the Button.

Thanks

dartsman
I won't post code, because in the long run it is a lot better to write your own code.

But it's very simple, just think about it, there are two modes when shooting a gun, when the trigger is down, and the trigger is up. So I do a EMIE_LMOUSE_PRESSED_DOWN and make the client's variable 'trigger' as true, then do a EMIE_LMOUSE_PRESSED_UP and set 'trigger' to false. I know that's very brief, but hope it helps at least a little bit. Currently I'm rewritting my whole weapons system code, so I might post the code after that.

I am using bsp for maps and MS3Ds for weapon models (might be converting to x)

Nope, no website yet, I am actualy thinking of making it just an FPS engine rather than a game because of my terrible wirtting skills and modeling skills. So the source will be released whenever it's ready. It will hopfuly help some to understand how an fps is written and inspire some to write their own.

Thanks a lot for all of the feedback, it might be awhile until the next update