Page 16 of 56

Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:59 pm
by Insomniacp
ugh.... I can't wait to implement this into my game... Still weeks out though. I will post some screenies of it once I get around to it though.

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:10 am
by BlindSide
The amount of crashes and general not-working-ness I've got over the times I've tried using XEffects, it wasn't immediately obvious.
Blame AMD's drivers! :lol:
Ah okay. I still remember your old XEffects where it was touching the Materials. Awesome to hear that this is not the case anymore.
It touches but puts them back when it's done, so in the end it doesn't change anything. The old one used to have an ordinary shadow mapping material that just gets set on them permanently. This new method has a performance penalty though in that it requires an extra pass, but that's the price you pay for material independence!

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:00 pm
by Nerexis
BUG: When big far value is set then objects near light dont cast shadows (they do when I lower far value).

Btw how outdoor shadows (and lights) are done in Crysis?

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:44 pm
by Nadro
Nerexis wrote:Btw how outdoor shadows (and lights) are done in Crysis?
Crysis use Cascaded Shadow Maps (CSM), it's similar technique to Paraller Split Shadow Maps (PSSM).

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:21 pm
by 9YkKsvXM
-

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:44 am
by 9YkKsvXM
-

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:20 am
by BlindSide
I can't reproduce this Nate_D, can you provide a working example with source that shows this problem clearly?
BUG: When big far value is set then objects near light dont cast shadows (they do when I lower far value).
This may be because I'm not taking the near value into consideration when scaling my depth values to clip space. I'll have to add that on the todo list.

TIP: With the new multiple shadow map resolutions are runtime feature, you can decrease a light's resolution if it's further away, and increase it when it comes close. Make sure to clear all shadow maps regularly if you do this often. For best performance I recommend switching between 256, 512 and 1024 depending on far away the light is.

Cheers

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:43 am
by FuzzYspo0N
awesome work blindside. i got some screenshots coming soon :D

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:30 pm
by porcus
Hi BlindSide,

I have some strange artifacts with ssao with your xeffects 1.1.
If I move the camera I get always black ugly stuff on the walls of the room.
(My graphics card: Ati Radeon HD3850)

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:47 pm
by Halifax
porcus wrote:Hi BlindSide,

I have some strange artifacts with ssao with your xeffects 1.1.
If I move the camera I get always black ugly stuff on the walls of the room.
(My graphics card: Ati Radeon HD3850)
Just as a recommendation, you should post some screenshots to show the actual errors.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:04 pm
by FuzzYspo0N
the ssao is interesting i must say. there are some tweaks i made to it and i changed a couple things...here are some screenshots.

without
Image
with
Image

without
Image
with
Image

Added some dof with the help of blindside, made a couple tweaks to that too (using the same thing)

out of focus (outside of range)
Image
closer to focus (within focal range)
Image

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:31 pm
by BlindSide
porcus wrote:Hi BlindSide,

I have some strange artifacts with ssao with your xeffects 1.1.
If I move the camera I get always black ugly stuff on the walls of the room.
(My graphics card: Ati Radeon HD3850)
You are probably seeing expected behavior, you should tweak the constants in the shader file to get rid of these artifacts. Mainly look at "SSAO_REACH" and some of the other ones.

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:37 pm
by m_krzywy
How to make defualt cam->setFarValue(); with is 2000.0f with ssao? I don't see any ssao effect with q3map loaded from irr example.

Sry for post. Solved with SSAO_REACH.

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:14 am
by wing64
This SSAO is very very great when use a small far value but if you set to a large far value (over more ~800) result is:

far value = 50
Image

far value = 800
Image

and i try change SSAO_REACH to 5 and 10 result are:

SSAO_REACH = 5 (far value = 800)
Image

SSAO_REACH = 10 (far value = 800)
Image

I don't know what i miss in my code or this ssao not support a big scale ? Please suggest me.

best regards,

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:30 am
by BlindSide
It still needs some tweaking. Although the output still looks correct in the last screenshot.

Try changing some of the other values, like lowering the depth aliasing episilon to 0.01.

Of course with a smaller far value the depth buffer precision will be better, nothing we can do about that.