Some questions about the engine

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
I_Wonder

Some questions about the engine

Post by I_Wonder »

(Sorry for my bad English)
im a noob, and i have always wanted to make a game.
Looking fo a good open source engine i ended up with Irrlicht.
many things looked good (espesially per pixel lighning)

Q1: is there a recomended polylimit on models? cos i've seen the screenshots on the page, and those were really lopoly!

Q2: is it possible to play back .avi (or other formats)

don't remember any more i wonder about...
MikeR

Post by MikeR »

These questions have been asked. Recently even.
Please use the search function. That's what it's there for.
Last edited by MikeR on Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
I_Wonder

Post by I_Wonder »

OK, sorry :(
dhenton9000

Post by dhenton9000 »

The wiki (irrforge.org) has a class for playing avi via DirectShow, designed for irrlicht. Windows only.

As for the recommend poly limit, who knows? I'm at 50K and running at 90 fps, but god only knows what I'm doing wrong. I can say that you will have to do a LOT of polygon modeling before you freak this thing out.
Conquistador

Post by Conquistador »

Irrlicht uses 16 bit indicies, which only allows you to have a max of 65,535 polys. I could be wrong, so don't hold me on that.
Royal Hamilton Light Infantry - http://www.rhli.ca
Paris/Port Dover Pipes'n Drums - http://www.parisdover.ca

Post by Guest »

For an average scene 20,000 polys max in view at once is a good standard (to be useable on older machines) thi is of course dependent on many other factors so the best thing to do is just experiment with the lowest spec of your target hardware and see how it goes.
I_Wonder_no_more