Does anyone have a workaround for when an MD2 character gets stuck on a Terrain Node? I am currently using
CreateTerrainTriangleSelector together with CreateCollisionResponseAnimator on an AnimatedMesh.
IAnimatedMesh Collision detection problem on Terain Nodes.
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:42 pm
- Location: http://cube3.helpmy.net
IAnimatedMesh Collision detection problem on Terain Nodes.
Platform 3D Engine using Irrlicht.NET
http://cube3.helpmy.net
http://cube3.helpmy.net
good luck with that...
without access to raw vertex/triangle data, it is impossible to have mesh-based collision using any physics engine with irrlicht. that would include terrain.
I am trying to write a function for just that purpose, to add the ability to grab a .NET collection filled with vertex data, but have hit a snag. Perhaps if I figure it out, or get a little help, this WILL be possible soon, but it still wont be as nice as the c++. somebody needs to convince niko that the .NET wrapper needs some love!! even in 1.0 we got almost nothing. I guess the c++ is a lot more popular...oh well...
I am trying to write a function for just that purpose, to add the ability to grab a .NET collection filled with vertex data, but have hit a snag. Perhaps if I figure it out, or get a little help, this WILL be possible soon, but it still wont be as nice as the c++. somebody needs to convince niko that the .NET wrapper needs some love!! even in 1.0 we got almost nothing. I guess the c++ is a lot more popular...oh well...
My irrlicht-based projects have gone underground for now, but if you want, check out my webcomic instead! http://brokenboomerang.net
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:42 pm
- Location: http://cube3.helpmy.net
I have a work around, it sure is cheesy. I am detecting previous position if it's the same the character got stuck and I raise the Y by 0.1f each time until the next position differs from the previous (which means we are not stuck).
I have a video here (do not play the video in winamp, it will lockup, play it using VLAN or WindowsMedia)
http://www.platform3d.com/images/movies/l5.mpg
There is a prrevious posting on extending Irrlicht.NET to get mesh buffers in the .NET wrapper. Anyone got that to work?
see: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=12493
Currently looking at using TAO ODE to build Trimesh data from vertices.
I have a video here (do not play the video in winamp, it will lockup, play it using VLAN or WindowsMedia)
http://www.platform3d.com/images/movies/l5.mpg
There is a prrevious posting on extending Irrlicht.NET to get mesh buffers in the .NET wrapper. Anyone got that to work?
see: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=12493
Currently looking at using TAO ODE to build Trimesh data from vertices.
Platform 3D Engine using Irrlicht.NET
http://cube3.helpmy.net
http://cube3.helpmy.net
meshbuffers
Hey there, this thread will detail how, and contains a download link for some meshbuffer code for .NET. I tried it, it seems to work!
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=12493
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=12493
My irrlicht-based projects have gone underground for now, but if you want, check out my webcomic instead! http://brokenboomerang.net
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:42 pm
- Location: http://cube3.helpmy.net
Yep I posted that link already, seems pretty cool. Not sure how to do trimeshes on a terrrain, as that's not a mesh, it changes the number of vertices based on camera distance.
This video shows, the workaround and it can be done on terrain without physics engine.
http://tcpx.com/temp/fraps.wmv
This video shows, the workaround and it can be done on terrain without physics engine.
http://tcpx.com/temp/fraps.wmv
Platform 3D Engine using Irrlicht.NET
http://cube3.helpmy.net
http://cube3.helpmy.net