Issues with 0.5

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
ceisnaugle

Issues with 0.5

Post by ceisnaugle »

In experimenting with 0.5 have found the following that were not there in 0.4.2. I have changed no code assocaited with the rendering so was wondering if anyone else has seen this.

- Tiling of textures seems off. On a large flat plane with a texture tiled roughly 10x10 over it there are cracks between the texture edges. This does not always happen depends on the angle if view etc but it is quite noticable while walking around.

- Z depth seems like it is somehow not working properly on a number of things. Example, the side of a house I place a rectangular box on the surface to form an outline of a door for example. THe rectangular box is not very thick so the top of the box is very close to the wall it is attacked to. It seems until you get very close to it when walking around the z depth sort is off as it is there then not there or parts of it show on the surface etc. Another example is a single flat polygon laid on top of a singular flat floor, the one is literally on top of the other but you will get Z depth errors constantly.

- Noticable performance degridation when using DirectX 9 vs Direct X 8.1

Thanks,

Chris Eisnaugle
ceisnaugle

Clipping issues 0.5

Post by ceisnaugle »

As was reported in the beginners forum as well. There are clipping issues where entire Triangles are being tossed out of the render when they should be fully viewable. This manifests itself in different ways.

Example: I havea fountain in the center of town its octagon in shape with 2 levels. From a distance its all there as you apprach some triangles will just drop off but as you rotate left or right different triangles drop or re-appear. This seems to be assocaited with angle of view and distance from the object, although features on some far buildings are also clipped although this seems more related to Z buffer depth.

Chris Eisnaugle
Miwa
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:48 pm

Post by Miwa »

I have the same problem with cracks in tiled textures. Seems to only appear away from the camera, so may be problem with the funky mipmapper niko wrote to handle dx8 and dx9 at the same time... dunno
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

I am discovering similar problems too, I did not notice them when I released 0.5. Working on it. And the d3d9 device seems to be really slower than d3d8, even if I don't draw anything: 300 fps in d3d8 vs. 80 fps in d3d9. Wondering what this could be. I'll try to find it.
SuryIIID_

Post by SuryIIID_ »

Example: I havea fountain in the center of town its octagon in shape with 2 levels. From a distance its all there as you apprach some triangles will just drop off but as you rotate left or right different triangles drop or re-appear. This seems to be assocaited with angle of view and distance from the object, although features on some far buildings are also clipped although this seems more related to Z buffer depth
.

I think this happens when you load a mesh then make an octree node form it and then scale it up.
Try to load the fountain but do not scale it and see if that works.
ceisnaugle

Issues with 0.5

Post by ceisnaugle »

Well the fountain is part of a larger mesh that contains buildings etc. This is all I did for this mesh:

TMesh = SceneMgr->getMesh("town.3ds");
TNode = SceneMgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(TMesh);
TNode->setPosition(core::vector3df(50700, 1500, 95616)):

I believe this dropping of triangles happens even if I leave it at its original location of 0,0,0. It seems to be something with the culling.

Chris
Arudil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 7:59 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Arudil »

just a little feature-request, i don't know where i should post it ;)

irrlicht0.5 detects the current operatingsytem; is this right?
niko, could you build in a small function, that returns the current OS?
danke ;)
Robomaniac
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 2:03 am
Location: Pottstown, PA
Contact:

Post by Robomaniac »

Already does, it says it at the top of the console when doing a console application
The Robomaniac
Project Head / Lead Programmer
Centaur Force
Gonosz
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 4:21 pm
Location: Hungary (one joke and you're dead)

Post by Gonosz »

niko wrote:300 fps in d3d8 vs. 80 fps in d3d9. Wondering what this could be. I'll try to find it.
Check this out: with one faerie and a couple of .3ds spheres loaded and Tokamak running I have about 1200 fps in d3d8, about 100 in OpenGL and 80 in d3d9. Now that's a difference :)

Gonosz.7xx
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Arudil wrote:niko, could you build in a small function, that returns the current OS?
danke ;)
You could use IOSOperator::getOperationSystemVersion(), but it only returns a string, don't know if it helps.
Post Reply