Tips for creating a game engine please?

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
MasterGod

Tips for creating a game engine please?

Post by MasterGod »

Hi, I'm a novice in the engine creating topic and so I'm asking for development tips so I wont have to recreate my engine every time I encounter something useful that I should have thought about before I began it all.
SiriusCG

Post by SiriusCG »

...so I wont have to recreate my engine every time I encounter something useful that I should have thought about before I began it all.
Actually, your a novice programmer... You ask a lot of rudimentary questions, hardly ready to design a game engine IMO...

Instead of "building an engine" why don't you just build a simple game or two using Irrlicht just the way it is and get familiar with coding *before* taking on a task like this?

If you don't understand the basic elements, you're not going to get very far in designing and implementing an engine which is comprised of those very same elements.
rogerborg
Admin

Post by rogerborg »

What he said. You're asking how to make a complete blacksmith's forge and tools, when you've never done any blacksmithing.

Most engine developers (IME) end up spending more and more time working on their 'engine demo' app anyway. You might as well do that in the first place.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
MasterGod

Post by MasterGod »

The thing is that working on this project should be the practice I need to evolve. I think this is the way I will learn to program right - by doing mistakes and learn from them and earn coding experience.

You got a better/faster way? I'd be more then glad to hear your opinions.