createScreenShot captures overlapping window as well?

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
thomascheah
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Cyberjaya, Malaysia

createScreenShot captures overlapping window as well?

Post by thomascheah »

Before I moved this into the bugs forum, can anybody confirm to me that createScreenShot actually captures any overlapping window above the Irrlicht drawing surface.

For example, I have an application (windowed, non-fullscreen) that used Irrlicht to perform 3D rendering. I want to save the 3D rendering as image for printing, etc. thus I thought createScreenShot will be perfect to this. But I noticed that whenever there is any pop up window like tool window above the main window of my application, createScreenShot will capture them in the image output as well.

This is somewhat ugly. Does anyone has any workaround or any other methods to solve my problem?

I am thinking of using RenderToTexture for achieving my objective. But it seems that Irrlicht (Direct3D driver) still have this unsolve mystery that I posted long time ago.
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=24867

Thanks in advance for any help.
Objective World Pvt. Ltd.
"Turning Knowledge Into Wisdom."
http://www.objectiveworld.com
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

USe OpenGL and all those problems will be immediately fixed...
thomascheah
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Cyberjaya, Malaysia

Post by thomascheah »

So it is indeed a bug in the Direct3D driver?
Objective World Pvt. Ltd.
"Turning Knowledge Into Wisdom."
http://www.objectiveworld.com
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

I think it's a question of how the frontbuffer is grabbed. Don't know if there's a solution to avoid this, but at least OpenGL should have its own copy of the frontbuffer and hence be unaffected of rendering from other apps.
Post Reply