Hello all New here and have some questions.

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Tech^salvager

Hello all New here and have some questions.

Post by Tech^salvager »

Hi all! I compiled the first tutorial now without the the lady model. I went to the Dev-C++ tutorial to see where I put stuff using Dev-C++. Now say I want to put in a model of a gun into it instead of the lady model what would I need to do (add lines of code of course). Now to my knowledge could I use the same code used for the lady model or Do i Have to do it differently?
And since I'm new to this say i want to put teh weapon model in here hands how would I go about doing that? Is it hard to do or just alot of coding. Can anybody give me a link to a site or information on how to do someof this stuff or can you recommend a book to pickup I would really apreciate it.

Thanks for your help and recomendations
Tech^

Oh! And what is the best file format to use with Irrlicht for models?
Thanks
Acki

Post by Acki »

Just copy the lines for the feary (lady) and replace the file name with the file name of your gun modell...
And copy all nessesary files (meshes, textures) to the folder!

I think 3ds is very good, becaus Irrlicht can handle it with multiple textures...
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java

Post by Guest »

Ok
Sence I'm new to this is a mesh a Model?
Tech^salvager

Post by Tech^salvager »

I'm sorry that was me up there
Thanks Tech^
Asterisk Man

Post by Asterisk Man »

Yes, a mesh is a model (vertices, indices, tcoords).
Tech^salvager

Post by Tech^salvager »

Ok thanks :D
Tech^salvager

Post by Tech^salvager »

Ok you guys have been a big help. Now how do I go about rendering the model of the gun into a human models hand?
Yes i am new to this but I do know some C++ to get it to work
I know
if statments
loops