GameMonkey problem

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
Post Reply
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

GameMonkey problem

Post by Virion »

I have switched to GameMonkey recently because it's easier to compile and use it on my app. The implementation works, but somehow I'm stumbled with a problem which is reading the script from a file.

I have a test.gm file that contains the following script

Code: Select all

print(\"yo\");
and I use the following code to read the file and run the script

Code: Select all

std::string s;
std::ifstream file;
file.open("test.gm");
while(!file.eof())
{ getline(file, s); }
file.close();

gm->ExecuteString(s.c_str());
Unfortunately nothing happen. Supposingly it should print the word "yo".

However if I don't read the script from file and include it in the source code, it works like charm

Code: Select all

std::string str = "print(\"yo\");";
gm->ExecuteString(s.c_str());
can anyone spot any error from my code? thanks in advance.

I have asked the same question on GameMonkey forum and waited for days but the forum seems dead.
xDan
Competition winner
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by xDan »

I know nothing about gamemonkey. But anyway:-

- why do you escape the quotes (\") in the test.gm file? Does gamemonkey require it? (I'm guessing not)
- print out your getlines for debugging. and print out the final "s" before calling ExecuteString. See what it contains.
- doesn't getline overwrite the string each time? So you will only end up with the last line in the file stored in s (which might be a blank line).

So try:

Code: Select all

std::string s;
std::string temp;
std::ifstream file;

file.open("test.gm");

while(!file.eof())
{
	getline(file, temp);
	s += temp;
}

file.close();

cout << "File contents: " << s;

gm->ExecuteString(s.c_str());
DarkDepths
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:21 am
Location: Canada

Post by DarkDepths »

I don't know very much about GameMonkey either, but I do know that it does require the escape characters in this case. (I only did a very short tutorial on it) Sorry, I have no other information to share.
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

thanks! it works now. the escape characters is not required if your script is stored in a text file. ahh didn't know getline overwrite the string each time.

again, big thank! :D
stefbuet
Competition winner
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: france

Post by stefbuet »

Hey you made me discover GameMonkey! Thanks.
I'll surely use it instead of doing my own code parser to save time. I find it better than Lua because of its C style & little size. I had never used Lua but when looking at it, it looks like pretty (too) huge.
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

i tried Lua and it's very hard to bind (for me) even if use the luabind which requires boost. very huge.
Post Reply