multiple textures on one mesh

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Stedy80

multiple textures on one mesh

Post by Stedy80 »

Hi everybody,
(sorry for my English ahead, it's not my main language:))

I'm a quiet experienced C++ programmer, but new to Irrlicht
I made the tutorials and little own games with the default media and everything worked just fine.

Now I created a simple mesh with Google Sketchup and exported it as Collada.
It couldn't be loaded direct (maybe too new Collada version or something), so I imported and exported it as Maya .obj in Cobbercube.
My problem is, there is one mesh, but multiple textures, which are at different locations (vertices) of the mesh.
In the things I tried before, there was always one texture and one mesh (like Sydney in media).

How can I apply the diffent textures to one mesh in Irrlicht?

The member function ISceneNode::setMaterialTexture() has an argument "layer", but I don't think I need different layers, it's just multiple textures all in the same layer.

Thanks for any help!

regards Stedy
nespa

Re: multiple textures on one mesh

Post by nespa »

you can have multiple materials on the mesh;
if your mesh is a solid material one, each material has 1 texture layer;

if you have n materials :

ISceneNode* Entity=......// your mesh node;
ITexture* Texture_0 = ....//your texture 0;
ITexture* Texture_1 = ....//your texture 1;

ITexture* Texture_n = ....//your texture n;

then:

Entity->getMaterial(0).setTexture(0,Texture_0);
Entity->getMaterial(1).setTexture(0,Texture_1);

Entity->getMaterial(n).setTexture(0,Texture_n);
Stedy80

Post by Stedy80 »

Thanks, that helped.

But in my simple Sketchup model there were 11 Materials exported. Dunno why, I just made a very basic house with the walls and the roof.
I found out, that my walls were Material at index 2, and the roof was index 3 (at sceneNode->getMaterial())